1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adcom GFA 7807.. one channel lost..

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by cobracalde, May 3, 2005.

  1. cobracalde

    cobracalde
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have bought an amplifier Adcom GFA 7807 (ex-demo, ebay auction).
    One channel does not work.. the thermal protection led is on..
    it is possible to resolve the problem with the substitution of the internal fuse?

    Sorry for my poor english...

    Stefano
    Italy
     
  2. booktrunk

    booktrunk
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    If it was me. I would contact the company / bloke that sold it to you.

    Ask them either to take it back or for their advice on fixing it. If they say saw a fuse if it doesn't work send it back great... If they say swap it great... If they say you are screwed...

    Then either get an engineer to look at it or take the top of and have a go yourself!!



    Steff
     
  3. cobracalde

    cobracalde
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are 2 fuses per channel.
    The top is ok.. The bottom is very difficult to take..

    4 mails... 2 fax and no answer from dealer... :mad:

    Thanks

    Stefano
     
  4. booktrunk

    booktrunk
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Give them a negative feedback on ebay that will get their attention!! :) Stating what you just said about their lack of response.

    Steff
     
  5. cobracalde

    cobracalde
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    With instructions of Adcom service (very friendly!!), i have controlled the fuses.. OK! the fuses is working..
    But.. with lateral panels removed and bottom plate separated from boards... all the channels work well !!!!!!

    I have mounted the panels.. and... LEFT Front channel does not work!!

    Thanks

    Stefano
     

Share This Page

Loading...