Active Speakers - Which should I buy?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Hemisphere, Sep 6, 2007.

1. Hemisphere

Hemisphere

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. I'm a student based in the UK, and I'm looking to build myself a small/medium rig for use in house parties, squat parties, outdoor raves etc.

I don't have a great deal of expertise in the field of sound engineering (well, virtually none really), and I'm not too keen to learn just yet, so I think building an active system makes the most sense for me.

I've done a lot of shopping around, looking at specs, prices, different brands etc, and the one brand that always seems like the most obvious choice to me is Mackie.

I initially found a site where I can buy B-Stock SR1521zs for £320 each, and for a while they seemed like a good bet, with 130db SPL, a nice wide range of frequencies and generally positive reviews on the net. The cheapest I could find them elsewhere was £400 so £320 isn't a bad price.

However, I'm looking to make a long term investment here (well, not so much an investment, but if I'm spending a lot of money on professional sound equipment, I don't intend to replace any of it for a LONG time). Mackie's SAz Series is very attractive, with SPL peaks around 136-138 (am I right in thinking that +3db equates to a percieved doubling in volume?), but it always seemed out of my league, as I hadn't once seen the SA1232z or the SA1532z for less than £950 a speaker, however two things made me seriously consider these as an option.

I found a website selling brand new SA1232zs for £799 each(including VAT/shipping), and I found another website that not only guarentees to beat any price found elsewhere on any of their products, but also has a very attractive finance policy, which means if you spend over £1000, they give you 12 months to pay it, with no interest.