1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Active Monitors in a Home Theatre?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by StaggeH, Mar 8, 2005.

  1. StaggeH

    StaggeH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the possibility of getting a good quality 5.1 set of active monitors, I'm wondering if anyone else uses them? If you do I'd be interested to see how you connect them to your setups.
     
  2. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Quite a few people use them and they either connect them directly to an AV processor or else to the pre-outs of their AV amp.

    What kind of speakers are they ?
     
  3. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,392
    I've got a pre/pro that has line level outputs. I connect the processor to the active speakers via XLR leads (the type used with professional microphones) as both my processor and speakers have XLR connections. Many processors and active speakers will have standard phono (RCA) connections so you just need long phono leads similar to those used to connect a CD etc to your amp.

    The down side IMO to active speakers is that you need to get a power supply to every speaker, and this can often be difficault in a home.

    Mark.
     
  4. StaggeH

    StaggeH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The speakers have XLR inputs. I'm interested to know what a/v kit you have that has XLR outputs?
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Lexicon, Meridian and Arcam all offer XLR (as did TagMclaren) IIRC i think a few others do or can as options (Rotel???)
     
  6. StaggeH

    StaggeH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for all the info guys. I've had a look and most of the ones Ive found have been out of my price range sadly. :(

    Any recommendations on a Receiver that has XLR outputs for under 500 quid?
     
  7. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,392
    See my signature underneath all my posts :D

    AFAIK no receivers have XLR outputs as they have built in amps and therefore the XLR preouts would be very expensive and in most cases just wouldn't be used. The XLR outputs on my Lexicon are an £800 option :eek:

    You could just get an XLR male to phono lead from the likes of Maplin to run between the phono output of your receiver to the balanced XLR input of the active speakers. Or you could run either phono (cheapest) or XLR (expensive) leads to the speakers and put the relevant converter on the end of the lead, both are also available from Maplin.

    Mark.
     
  8. StaggeH

    StaggeH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You don't get a commission from Maplin by chance Mark? ;)
     
  9. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,972
    They cost about a quid each, hardly making a mint if he was is he?;)
     
  10. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,392
    Hey, I wish I was on a commission from Maplin. The amount of times I've posted a link to one of their products, or just recommended them. Even at a penny a time I would have earnt a fortune of around 20p by now :D
    Seriously though, they are on the high street and also online so everybody can get hold of what they sell. They also sell their products at reasonable prices IMO!

    Mark.
     
  11. StaggeH

    StaggeH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I finally got the speakers, they were off ebay which was why i was hesitant to mention the name of them. HHB Circle 5 & 1, had for just under 700 quid. I later found out they have both phono and X/LR input so saves the faffing about with cabling.

    Now I just have to figure out how they're gonna fit in my room :D

    Will post some pics later but they look fine and dandy with their purple cones. :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...