1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Activating Prog Scan on Burnout 2 (PS2)

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by Bada Bing, Jun 26, 2003.

  1. Bada Bing

    Bada Bing
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +5
    I can't for the life of me find the option, nor guess the buttons to hold down on bootup. Can anyone help me?

    I've got it hooked up with the component cable to my LG plasma.
     
  2. Kazuya Mishima

    Kazuya Mishima
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Ratings:
    +65
    I thought you just had to select 60 Hz at the start - i didn't realise there was a code for it.....
     
  3. bash

    bash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +327
    hold down /_\ & X whilst it loads up, its a hidden option mate ;)
     
  4. Bada Bing

    Bada Bing
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +5
    Doesn't work for me, it doesn't say anything about it in the manual either.:confused:

    I have them held down as soon as I power up the PS2, is that wrong?
     
  5. bash

    bash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +327
    Hold them down after you see 'playstation 2' flash on the screen.
     
  6. Bada Bing

    Bada Bing
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +5
    Doesn't work.:(
    I got in touch with Criterion who say that no PAL version of Burnout 2 supports prog scan, only the NTSC ones. So has anyone actually had it running on a PAL copy?
     
  7. Kazuya Mishima

    Kazuya Mishima
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Ratings:
    +65
    When I choose 60 Hz I see a visible improvement over 50 Hz (viewed on a 42" Panasonic plasma). Would this suffice?
     
  8. Bada Bing

    Bada Bing
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +5
    No, it suffers really badly from jaggies and desperately need progressive. Even in 60Hz mode it looks dire next to my GC games with progressive. I'm just going to return it and buy the NTSC GC version with native progressive scan.
     
  9. olaiho

    olaiho
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I confirm: no ProgScan in PS2 Burnout 2 PAL. Too bad, really... Otherwise the game is one of the best demos for home theatre gaming.

    BR,
    Olaiho
     
  10. Bada Bing

    Bada Bing
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +5
    Ho hum, I'll just see if anyone wants to trade it for Monkey Ball 2 on NGC then...:confused:
     
  11. bash

    bash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +327
    Lol, I have Us version on my tosh strata, looks lurvly too ;)
     
  12. Bada Bing

    Bada Bing
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks for that.:( :D
     
  13. Acdbulls

    Acdbulls
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Ps2 can prog scan?

    i dont think so
     
  14. RL123

    RL123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,037
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yes it can but it's software-dependant. Only a few games support it atm
     
  15. Kazuya Mishima

    Kazuya Mishima
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Ratings:
    +65
    Tekken 4 is one.
     
  16. bash

    bash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +327
    US Burnout 2 is another :D

    The getaway is the first PAL Prog Scan PS2 game I believe, I cant think of any others.
     
  17. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    PAL Primal also does it out of the box,
    I am 100% sure of this as I have used it.
    Azzo.
     
  18. jerkyboy

    jerkyboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jak 2 (pal) supports 480p
     
  19. flangemonkey

    flangemonkey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yep, NONE of the Burnout series in PAL territories support progressive scan. For NTSC versions, you still have to hold triangle+X on bootup to enable it.

    The Criterion-developed Black conversely DOES support progressive scan for the PAL release (using the same button-holding trick) - and very lovely looking it is too...
     
  20. Bada Bing

    Bada Bing
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2001
    Messages:
    530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yep. The only other PAL PS2 title I've seen that's prog scan is Tekken 4. And it's sh*t.
     

Share This Page

Loading...