1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Acer AT3201W Sound +Fan question

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by Briggsyuk, Apr 8, 2005.

Tags:
  1. Briggsyuk

Briggsyuk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, im a relative TV newbie to most of you guys, I tend to spend the majority of my wages on PC stuff not Home Cinema stuff, and anyway I have read these forums for sometime for advice but never registered… :hiya:

I am considering purchasing a LCD TV for the first time as my old fitful Philips Blackline S is on its last legs after 5 years. (There is now a blue tint to everything on screen)

The problem I have is the fact that some LCD’s I have noticed have cooling fans. Now I cannot stand fan noise, I have even spent about £900 sound proofing my computers.
    How laud are the fans in LCD TV’s (in dBa). And does anyone know the speed of the fans in RPM for the Acer AT3201w?

Thanks in advance. :lease:

2. chrisdual

chrisdual
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I have purchased one of these from DABS at the £800 offer price and they are exceptional quality - the pricture is almost too bright and the progressive picture is breathtaking - at this price almost a steal. Inevitably, there is a downside and that is the fan - I find it noticeable but my other half doesn't. It has the usual moving air sound which cannot be got round, but the fan also gives a whine which I suspect is the bearing or motor - however it is only a standard fan and is held in the back of the panel with 4 cross-head screws and looks to have a standard power connector so I am currently braving the screwdriver over the next few days and looking for an ultra quiet version.

3. OxfordJohn

OxfordJohn
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0