1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Acer at3201w ntsc?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Bigice, Aug 1, 2005.

  1. Bigice

    Bigice
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys, have been reading this forum for a few days now and like the looks of the acer lcd, but carnt find the answer to this question? Does it display ntsc and pal 60, for my xbox. and help would be much appreciated :thumbsup: .

    I have looked a the specs on the acer web site and it doesn't say anything about ntsc :thumbsdow if this is the case what other lcd would you suggest?

    Cheers pete
     
  2. Barzo

    Barzo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +184
    Have the same question, or at least variants of it.

    Specs on the website are weird, and the manual (which can be downloaded from Acers support pages) is little help. Manual talks about 3:2:2 pulldown for progressive sources, which is for NTSC is it not? Also, specs say that screen does 480i, 480p, which is NTSC. Does that mean it will not do analogue PAL progressive or interlace? Surely not!

    Getting back to the point, my questions are these:

    (i) Does the panel do NTSC prog scan and PAL60HZ through component inputs?
    (ii) Does the panel do PAL prog scan (50Hz) through component inputs?
    (iii) Does the panel doe NTSC and PAL through the DVI i.e. is 720p and 1080i and agreed standard for both PAL and NTSC upscaled ouput?

    Like many people, I would like a nice 32" LCD for upcoming Xbox 360 and upscaled DVD (at last my Panny s97 would get to stutt its stuff). Currently considering the Acer panel, the Tosh 32L56 (and forthcoming L58, with two HDMIs), the Hitachi 7200, JVC 32d6 and, as an outsider, the Samsung panels (don't like the sound of the 'tearing' issue)
     
  3. Bigice

    Bigice
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have basically the same question, all i want to now is does it do ntsc??

    Have rang a few places but them dont seem to know the answer, am going to ring acer to find out in a bit.

    Pete
     
  4. Barzo

    Barzo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +184
    Is there anyone out there who owns one of these screens, and uses a games console at 60HZ through Scart? And a pure NTSC (not PAL60) feed from a DVD player (through component or Scart)? Does the screen display these sources properly? If it does, it really looks like my LCD of choice, given cost/peformance ratio, and the seemingly small number of issues around it - seems to only be fan noise, whereas others suffer from buzz, tearning, etc.

    This set is on offer for around £800 in a number of places at the moment, so I'm keen to get it asap, IF it does what I want to it.

    A plea to forum members! :smashin:
     
  5. pc99

    pc99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    255
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3
    Well, I can confirm a Playstation 2 in 60Hz mode displays fine via component.
    I haven't tried an NTSC DVD yet, but I'll check this evening.
     
  6. Barzo

    Barzo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +184
    Excellent - many thanks!
     
  7. Bigice

    Bigice
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    cool, cheers, this is what i have been waiting for. If it is no good then i thing i am going to buy the 32" veiwpia for a simular price.

    Pete
     
  8. pc99

    pc99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    255
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3
    I can now confirm it works absolutely fine via component in PAL, NTSC
    480P and 576P.

    Haven't tried SCARTs as I haven't got any scart connections.

    Hope that helps you decide.
     
  9. Barzo

    Barzo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +184
    Excellent. Yes - it does. Only outstanding question is what happens over the DVI, but I'll bet that if it can manage it analogue, digital should be ok too. Is this TV registered as HDTV compatible, as per European guidelines?

    Thanks for this - will order a screen tomorrow, unless you can tell me of a major problem I should know about!

    Thanks again
     
  10. pc99

    pc99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    255
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3
    Can't confirm DVI connectivity, as only my PC has DVI out.
    But the TV is supposed to be 'HD Ready' which should mean it can handle anything you can throw at it.

    Regards
     

Share This Page

Loading...