1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Acer 26 inch widescreen LCD TV? Too good to be true?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by JackFlash, Jan 28, 2005.

1. JackFlash

JackFlash

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone

Newbie here and I'm a bit of a techno-donut so please be gentle. Anyway a mate of mine has just bought an Acer 26 inch widescreen LCD TV (AL2671W) for £649 (!!!!!) and he is absolutely blown away with it. I'm in the market for something similar myself and until I came across this one I was thinking I'd have to fork out about £1000 but it appears that prices are tumbling dramatically. The question is, is a 26" LCDTV at this price too good to be true? My mate reckons the TV picture is just about perfect and the surround sound brilliant. He says the viewing angle is ridiculously good (apparently you can see the picture really clearly from a nearly side-on angle) and its got loads of different i/o connection options. It really does sound too good to be true so I'm going round his place shortly to check it out for myself.

The question is, is there anything I should be wary of at these kinds of prices? The equivalent Philips one is £1049.99, but unless it does things like make coffee and toast, I really can't see why anyone would choose it over the Acer one.

So is there anything I should know about LCD TVs that I might be missing?

Thanks in anticipation

Jack

P.S. Will confirm just how good (or bad) this Acer one is when I get back from my mate's house.

2. onlyconnect

onlyconnect
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm impressed with the Acer. It's not "too good to be true", but it reflects the declining price of LCD screens as production ramps up. There are other models of similar spec and price - Video 7, Saisho, Goodmans have been mentioned.