Accoustic Advice for Timber Room

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Paul-r1, Apr 27, 2007.

1. Paul-r1

Paul-r1
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie so please be gentle with me ;)
    I think this is the right area allthough I might ask some non accoustic questions also. Sorry. :D

Anyhow, I am in the process of completing my first house purchase and been given permission from "She who must be obeyed" to turn the centre room of the log cabin at the bottom of the garden, into a full on Cinema room.

The room has to be "family friendly" also, but I am allowed large floor standing speakers and a proper overhead projector system.

This is a picture (Taken from the Estate Agents details) showing the building and the room.
    I can also tell you that the cabin is built from 3/4" pine tongue and groove boards. The floor and roof have been insulated and the place has full power, Broadband, Telephone etc.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The plan is to purchase an Infocus IN76 and a screen (any recomendations? - must be electric)
    and match this up to my trusty Harmon Kardon amp, KEF centre speaker and some "to be purchased" floor standing frontspeakers, wall mounted rears and a sub. I am still making my mind up on those.

Now because there is a room either side of the main room (will be guest bedrooms), I was thinking of cutting a small hole in the wall (8ft off the ground I have heard) above where the sofa will be and thus fitting the projector, in effect, in the other room. Will look nicer and reduce any possible fan noise. However, the measurements of the room are 13'6" x 14'9" and I am thinking that this will result in the projector being too far away from the screen. I assume there is a maximum distance??