Accidental Projector Owner

saprolith

Novice Member
I'm new to projectors (it hasn't even been delivered yet) but after looking for a Pico projector for my 15yr old daughter to mess about with I ended up buying a new LG BX324P from PC World/Currys Ebay shop for £140 all in.

It'll plug into the VGA output of my laptop and run Blu Ray films, tv and games (Wii), it'll be an ad-hoc device moved between her bedroom, the living room and study and frankly it seemed a much better buy than a Pico device which seemed quite feeble by comparison. Sound will likely come from a sound bar I'm yet to buy.

It was an utter gamble and is a business device, the specs are below, I can't find a single review and am looking for some friendly opinions as to how it's likely to perform.

As a former audiophile I'm well aware it won't be a reference quality device but at the price it was too good to ignore.

http://www.ebuyer.com/194919-lg-bx3...r-bx324?utm_source=google&utm_medium=products

I'd welcome your posts and a suggestion for a suitable budget screen.

Cheers

KelvinS1965

Distinguished Member
It's likely to be a little soft and not have great contrast due to it being non HD, 4:3 native (I think) and low contrast specifications. Probably won't be brilliant with motion either as these data projectors are designed for showing powerpoint type presentations in ambient light. However for £140 it's a start and if you find you enjoy the idea, you could always upgrade later, just be glad you didn't pay the Ebuyer price as for that much you could have bought a proper cinema projector with a 720p display.

kbfern

Distinguished Member
I echo Kelvins comments with the addition it is a fairly noisy projector and has an extremely bright output (3200 lumen). This will not be so bad if using a room during daylight hours but at night you will find it will be far too bright.