Answered Accessing HD removed from Popcorn Hour

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by antonalfredo, Jun 28, 2018.

  1. antonalfredo

    antonalfredo
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Asia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Popcorn Hour A-210 with a 1 TB internal HD and a PC running Win 8.1. So far, I've been transferring files using a local network, but it's not very fast because even though the router is Gigabit the cable connecting the two devices is Cat 5.

    I'm thinking of just moving the HD to an enclosure near the PC and just letting the my pop watch the videos from there.

    Given that, can the PC access the contents of the HD, or do I have to move them to the PC first? If it's the latter, is it possible to to move the PCH next to the PC, connect it to the Gigabit router router using a short Cat 6 cable, and then transfer the files before I re-format the HD, put it in an enclosure, and copy the files back?
     
  2. Best Answer:
    Post #2 by MarkE19, Jun 28, 2018 (1 points)
  3. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,508
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,511
    Best Answer
    Welcome to the forum antonalfredo :hiya:

    Regardless of the cable used copying media onto or from the PCH HDD is going to be slow. A media player as old as yours will only have a 100Mbps network port and even if it did have gigabit the processor in the player could not handle it at full speed.

    The chances are that the HDD is in a format that a Windows PC will not natively recognise, ie Ext3 or similar. However there is good free software that will enable you to read the drive, see - 3 Ways to Access Your Linux Partitions From Windows

    Mark.
     
  4. antonalfredo

    antonalfredo
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Asia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for the help. I was just reading a similar query from 2009 here.

    I will definitely need the software as I just found out that the PCH that I'm using has no gigabit ports, which means file transfers will be slow no matter what cables I use.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice