Absolute novice needing your much appreciated advice :)

joey87

Novice Member
Hello!!
I am very new to the world of hifi! But after a crazy year working in the NHS I decided to treat myself and build my first separates system.

I've been recommended by a couple of pals that the Rega RP1 for the turntable so I am looking for a amp to pair with this. But I'm on a little bit if a budget, about £150 or $200 andI know that I definitely want a inbuilt phono preamp.

I've spent a fair bit of time on forums so I know that the main advice is going to be go and have yourself a listen and see what your ears tell you, but with work, and the craziness of cover that is not going to be possible.

I have see a technics amplifier SU-V303 for sale, which cosmetically I think is very sexy, and includes a tuner which would be a nice touch.
Would this be a good entry level amp for me and a good pairing for the Rega?
Or would I be better off going for something newer like a Marantz pm5004/5005 or a Cambridge AM10? More likely to find a Cambridge in my price range it seems

If anyone has any advice or thoughts it would be much appreciated!!

Joey

acgingersnaps

Hi. It would help to know which speakers you have/are getting.

joey87

Novice Member
Well as a complete newbie at all this stuff, I am just going on general consensus of things I have read. But was thinking of bookshelf size. So perhaps something like PSB Alphas or Wharedale Dimonds? But very much up for suggestions.

Hixs

Distinguished Member
Room size?

dogfonos

When considering amp and speakers, I believe the initial decision should concern the type of system you want, i.e. passive or active.