Absolute newbe. What do i need?

B

bacci

Hi,

You've all been asked this a trillion times I know but..........I've decided to purchase my first 42" plasma tv but after reading about a million reviews on a thousand plasma screens i'm still none the wiser :(

I have around £1200 to spend and wondered if you guys could point me in the right direction on make and model. Is there a good plasma out there that the majority are happy with?

What would i need to set up the new plasma correctly, i've seen things from boards to amps mentioned on here but would i need them?

Also i have been looking at the special forum plasma buy on here, is this a good plasma and where are the speakers?

Many thanks,

:lease:

Sorry forgot to mention that I'm quite interested in the Hyundai HPTN4200S and the LG RZ42PX11 (but I haven't managed to find one of these to check it out).

Anymore ideas would be gratefully received ;)

Just found the LG 42px3rva as well.........................help!

peterakastorm said:
The PWD7 ;) Great offer, and yes you may need a Home Cinema System...

Would i be able to use my Technics dvd/stereo system instead?

Yup... I would think so. You might also wanna notice that there is no tuner integrated - thats an accessory... Don't know much about the english television, but if you have a box, we call "Selector" in Denmark, you don't need the tuner... Or even a VCR or a DVD-recorder.

I think my Sky box would act as the tuner anyway ....................... i think!

Yeah, exactly... thats the "Selector" box in Denmark I'm talking about... So then your off ;) Right in your budget, and a GREAT screen, according to alot of the people in here.

Cool :cool:

What about the two i am already interested in?

Has anyone hung a plasma in a corner? I was wondering because thats where mine will be and i thought it would be pretty cool to hang it there!