About to jump!!!

J

jpd2

About to jump in the deep end and invest in a 42" plasma, but being a total newbie, and trying to make the correct choices, so have a few questions that I would appceiate advice on from you old hacks.

Trying to buy on a budget (that seems to keep getting nudged up) with an extended warranty for peace of mind, I have decided to probably buy from Richer Sounds, either the Hitachi 42pma400e @ £2299 or the 42PD5000 @ £2499 (will price match newmix at 2389) plus £200 for 3 year warranty........unless you know of a better deal, I have looked at John Lewis with their excellent free 5 year warranty, but can not find a good enough shop deal to make them price match (except perhaps the Pan TH42PA20 £4400 at JS but may match RS at 2795, but still abit over budget)

Has RS done further deals for you by chucking in FOC warranty or brackets?

If I go Hitachi is it worth spend the extra for the 5000?

Are the Daewoo DP42sp (1799) or Relisys RP4205s (1999) or LG MZ42PZ43 (2199) worth considering?

To act as a tuner I am considering Blueyonder digital cable, is this as good or better than Sky or a Freeview box?

My DVD is an Aiwa Ht-DV90 home cinema (which I am happy) it has S - Video, Composite + optical conections, how will I conect it all up (sorry don't now cable box connections) as all the talk of RGB, converters etc is going over my head

The helpful guy in Comet (LOL) tried to put me off units without a built in tuner saying Lip sync is a real problem, I've searched the forum and their only seem to be a few posts, is this much of an issue?

thanks for any posts that help to prevent my hand shaking at the tought of spending 2.5k on a tele

K

Kraken

Richer Sounds "price beat" specifically excludes plasma screens.

from richersounds.co.uk
Excludes special orders, accessories and plasmas.
Even if you could get them to price match they only price match stores with 75 miles, or a specific list of websites :