Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

About to jump of the fence

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Oblivion, Jun 10, 2003.

  1. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well I am just about to jump of the fence and delve into the world of front projection. Having waded through the threads on the latest batch of budget Home Cinema projectors I thought I would open it up to you guys for some comments.

    At the moment my display is a Tosh 32ZD26P which is great. But after a year of owning it, a bigger display is needed for DVD. I have given myself a budget of 1500 squid. The products I am considering are as follows.

    Sanyo Z1 - £1177
    Draper 69” Diag Screen - £143
    LMP Ceiling Mount - £95
    Left for cables - £85

    I will be sitting approx 10 feet from the screen. Will this be far enough to reduce the screen door effect?

    The Draper screen can be Ceiling mounted, but by s hooks. Is there more secure method? Has anyone done this?

    Does anyone else have any comment or advice? Have I missed anything?

    Many Thanks

    Paul
     
  2. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +338
    Hi Paul

    Welcome to the club :)

    Hanging your screen by S hooks will work just fine (that's how I had my first 8ft Draper screen hung). This will enable you to remove it as required and only hang when needed. If you want a more secure method you could buy some small angle brackets from your local DIY store and fix to the ceiling with a small nut and bolt fixing the Draper brackets to those. Also works very well but is a more permanent fixing method.

    The Z1 is a great PJ at that price point and will reward you with very colourful and vibrant images. I have my doubts though that you will remove the screen door effect from your seating distance. In fact, when I had one on deo, sitting 1.5 times screen width you could still see it though it was not hugely distracting. So ong as you sit and enjoy the movie rather than looking for items such as this I think you will not have a problem.

    Did you check out the screen shots in an earlier Z1 thread I posted about a month ago?

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=79887&highlight=screenshots

    Good luck and enjoy your new toy :)
     
  3. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    Cheers for the link image look great. Did you get the projector to work with a PS signal? Have you any pics?

    Well over the weekend I took home a NEC VT440 from work to see if I could live with image from this, and I could. It was approx 5 foot onto a sheet but the quality wasn't so bad that I couldn't watch it. So hopefully the Z1 should be fine. It just a git that demoing a projector is imposible. Does anyone knows of somewhere in the Milton Keynes area that i could see a Z1 in action?

    Sounds like a plan with the screen mounting, cheers for idea Messiah. Not having the screen up all the time would be better on the eye, but i just want something i can pull down and watch withount any faffin about

    Cheers for the support

    Paul
     
  4. calscot

    calscot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    I live in Milton Keynes, so you could come and see mine if you like... I also have the LMP mount.

    The rest of my setup you can see from my sig.

    Cheers,
    Cal.
     
  5. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for the offer calscot I might have to take you up on it.

    How far from the screen are you sitting? And what is the LMP mount like? quality?

    Thanks again

    Well I have a Toshh SD510 DVD player which is PS.

    paul
     
  6. calscot

    calscot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    BTW I find the screen door less distracting than the deinterlacing artifacts especially from video. Hoping to get prog scan soon.

    Cheers,
    Cal.
     
  7. calscot

    calscot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    My eyes are about 12" from the screen. That's about 1.8 times screen width.

    I see screen door now and again even with a tad defocus.

    IMO The LMP mount is A1, Rolls Royce quality. It also looks fantastic and so is partner friendly.

    I found it very easy to put up due to the projector's lens shift meaning I didn't have to worry about being exact.

    Cheers,
    Cal.
     
  8. Klippie

    Klippie
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +97
    Oblivion,

    I have a Draper Luma 72" wide screen, I wall mounted it by screwing a batton of wood to the wall 3/4" X 3 3/4" then screwed the screen to the wood using the two mounting brackets on the screen's case.

    Easy done and looks fine.

    Klippie.
     
  9. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    Update

    After uming and ahhing about which Projector to get along comes the thread about the AE100 for £600. So after some thought I have decided to go for it instead of the Sanyo.

    Well always after a bargin I decided to take Empire Direct up of their 120% price promise, which would mean the AE100 at a price of £528:eek:

    Well spoke to the chap on the phone, told him the details..... to which he replied sorry mate your having a laugh, no-one could offer that at such a price, I think you made a mistake.

    Well have just recieved a call back. They wont price match because the AE100 from Komplett is not uk spec, but euro spec :(

    If I chose to go with komplett, would i have problems with warenty??

    Paul
     
  10. paulefox

    paulefox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds
    Ratings:
    +44
    I haav ejust ordered one , didnt realise they were not british
     
  11. Chaos Star

    Chaos Star
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +22
    Just ordered one as well, will this effect warranty?
     
  12. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just had another look on Komplett's site. The have all 3 Panasonic projectors 100/200/300 and on the details page of the 200/300 it has UK in brackets. On the 100 is does not. Is this how its so cheap?

    Paul
     
  13. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Shouldn't effect the warranty which is pan European from Panasonic IIRC.

    Komplett are a UK registered company (as well as .ie, .de etc...) although they're Scandanavian.

    So Komplett.co.uk are UK registered & pay UK vat etc...

    Gees, £600 - come on guys, it's a no brainer :p
     
  14. Chaos Star

    Chaos Star
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +22
    If its the European warranty it could be for 2 years rather than the UK 1 year, which is an even better deal. :smashin:

    Bye 32" TV Hello Projector, ah the excitment, cant wait to switch it on and see it blow up.
     
  15. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well after lots of yes... no... yes... no... over the weekend I have decided that 600 squid id just to good a offer to pass up. Ordered from Komplett this mornin' Did have problems ordering though. Seems you cannot use an egg card with their systems? Thought someone was trying to tell me something :D

    So roll on mid week :clap:

    Have the guys above who ordered theres last week got them yet?

    Paul
     
  16. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Komplett use DHL so if it's dispatched today (check you're account/order status - should receive an e-mail confirmation of dispatch too), chances are you'll have it tomorrow.

    DHL tracking number is supplied so you can check it's progress.

    Best of luck with it :)
     
  17. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well has been dispatched, have my DHL number.

    Cheers Kramer

    Paul
     
  18. paulefox

    paulefox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds
    Ratings:
    +44
    mine is being delivered today.
    Can't wait
     
  19. Chaos Star

    Chaos Star
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +22
    Mine arrived today from komplett very fast service, havnt had time to try yet, will set it up quickly tonight.

    Dosnt come with a component cable though, just svideo and sound and video combi one.

    Its small and light looks pretty darn cool :).
     
  20. paulefox

    paulefox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds
    Ratings:
    +44
    got it working its fantastic and no dead pixels at all
     
  21. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    Excellent News. Just wets my apitite even more.

    Paul
     
  22. paulefox

    paulefox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds
    Ratings:
    +44
    had a few problems with DHL they didnt deliver.
    I rang up and kicked up a fuss and they sent someone out tonight so I didnt get it till 8pm.
    I am just using the wall and it givesa great picture
     
  23. Chaos Star

    Chaos Star
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +22
    What kind of cable are you using at the moment Paul.

    I going yto have to buy 3 component cables.

    One long one for my projector too amp and 2 small ones from the amp to x-box and dvd player. Also just picked up an Advanced AV pack for the X-box (2nd hand on forum), this is going to turn out quite costly.

    Going to go and try the projector now :smashin: but lighest wall I have is light Yellow, so I will also have to build or buy a screen as well.

    All donations will be gladly acepted :)
     
  24. paulefox

    paulefox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds
    Ratings:
    +44
    our walls are an off white colour and it seems to show the picture very well.
    I got a screen off ebay for £45 which seems good except the casing is dented so it is going back to the company tomorrow. I dont think I will bother with one , I know that will please my girlfriend.
    I am using svideo to my amp and then svideo to the sky box and the DVD player. The picture is good we were watching a film on Sky movies and it was justlike being at the cinema , fantastic , the best possible upgrade for a home cinema
     
  25. Chaos Star

    Chaos Star
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +22
    Just fired it up quickly to see what it was like, used the gamecude and its composite. Its quite amazing how a small box can create such a huge picture. Looking fordward to getting it set up properly with good video cables and a suitable screen and a AViA DVD ;).

    Going to try and talk the little lady into repainting the walls or a screen (Shes away for a few days at the moment, doesnt even know I bought a projector :eek: )

    I put the projector into low lamp mode, which reduces the fan. I would like to keep the fan speed high, but cant find an option for this ( read others have done this on the forums to try and extend the pannys life span) Assume its in the service menu, any ideas how to get into it??

    Off to try the DVD player with an svideo cable :smashin:
     
  26. KEETY

    KEETY
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm looking at buying a PJ, Initially, I was going to go for the Z1, mainly because of the Prog Scan.. but the cheap price of the 100 is swaying me..

    Is there much of a difference in the two PJ's (apart from price), does the 100 do prog scan??

    Hopefully my room will be big enough, I *should* be sitting approx 14 foot away...
     
  27. paulefox

    paulefox
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds
    Ratings:
    +44
    that is about the distance away that we sit.
    yes it does do progresive scan.
    don't know much about the sanyo have never seen it
     
  28. Chaos Star

    Chaos Star
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +22
    Mine doesnt seem to work with s-video?? Not bothered much as long as the component inputs give me a picture though.

    Keety if you are a bit tight for cash the AE100 is probably your best bet, you will be amazed what front projection is like if you have never had a projector before, go on buy one today.
     
  29. KEETY

    KEETY
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Spot on! Time to break out the old CC I think..

    If the Mrs stops buy, it only cost £300 ok? ;)
     
  30. Oblivion

    Oblivion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well mine as arrived at work. 20 hours from order to reciept, not a bad turnaround seeing as it came from Norway:eek: Full marks to Komplett and DHL. Why cant all E-Tailers be this quick?

    Anyway have just quickly set it up on my dell laptop at work (has an ATI Mobility Radeon 7500) with the custom res 568x480 and watched a bit of Shrek. WOW awsome picture from something that costs less than a decent 28 inch TV + no dead pixles. Can not wait to get it home and set it up properly via my Tosh 510.

    Few quibles. My God does this get hot:eek: its been off for 1/2 hour and its still warm to the touch. Slight VB. Also while having a check for dead pixles it seems that the far right of the screen has a green line running down it. Last row of pixles. Only noticable on a white BG up close. Have heard this mentioned else where??

    Well all I can say I am glad I made the move to FP. Like I have said above there are a few very minor things, but if like me you buy with your eyes open then you cant complain.

    Paul
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice