1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

About hi-fi seperates in general

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by HighlandeR, Oct 9, 2001.

1. HighlandeR

HighlandeR

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Total newbie question...

But what is the best possible way too get very good quality sound.

Ive been told by Richer sounds, its best too get ALL SEPERATES, as in tuner/cassette deck/CD player/Amp/receiver etc etc.

Since im looking at the Nad 370 amp and its literaly scooped all the awards up for best sound performance whether its Rock or pop or even classical music.

Would it not be better too get a stereo amp and then addon processors like DD 5.1/DTS, rather then getting the Amp/reciever out there?

I wouldnt mind getting a Nad 350/370 amp and then at a later on date pick up a nice addon processor with DTS/DD 5.1 etc

Thats if thats the best thing/way too go about it, hey thats why im asking you lot your the experts :)

2. Stuart Wright

Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9,408
    Depends on your budget. The NAD 350 is £300. Problem is that once you've got your NAD stereo amp and you then want 3 or 5 more channels of amplification, you have to get amps which match the NAD.
    Most people here have an integrated AV amp which costs from about £250 to £2500 (built in Dolby Digital & DTS decoder). A £1000 AV amp would probably sound better than the NAD.
    I personally would get the integrated AV amp.
    Beyond that you're looking at a couple of grand for the decent processor and a couple of grand for the decent power amps. Home cinema processor & power amp separates are expensive.
    If you get a decent DVD player then you don't need a CD player. The cassette deck and tuner would need to be separates. Unless you get an AV receiver rather than AV amp.