• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

About HDMI in amps...

Danteh

Standard Member
Well I decided yo buy HT-DDWG800 (HTDDWG800) : Home Theatre and hi fi : Sony , seems perfect for me and everything.

But I'm extremely confused by why in its specs talks about 24p Cinema (wich my TV already has) and other VIDEO features. I've also heard people saying something about it's good because you can watch at 1080p with this amp (¿?), etc.

I'm a total noob at this, but aren't the Amps supossed to only care about sound? I thought that I had to connect a HDMI from the PS3 to the TV (for the video), and another to the amp ( for the sound). It's seems I'm totally wrong :p

If anybody would clarify this (the video things of the amp) and how must I connect my Bravia, PS3 and Home Cinema I would be very thankful :D

dwhite

Distinguished Member
HDMI can carry both audio and video. So you would connect your PS3 via HDMI to your amp and then your amp to the TV via HDMI. Providing your amp can handle LPCM audio over HDMI, you will get the HD audio from your bluray.

Doing this, obviously means the amp passes the video thru it. However some amps can't pass 1080p24.

Danteh

Standard Member
Nice, but what's the point of passing the video signal though the amp? I mean perhaphs it could lose quality with the "extra path" the signal must make, and if the amp doesn't support 24p you lose this feature..., any ways thanks for the response ;)

dwhite

Distinguished Member
If you want HD audio from your PS3, then you have to pass the video/audio via HDMI thru the amp (it only has one HDMI output), you can't get it any other way.

For HDMI, you shouldn't lose any quality as it should be just passing a digital signal with no processing involved.

Mark.Yudkin

Distinguished Member