1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AAHHH Big Mistake!!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Samari, Oct 11, 2004.

  1. Samari

    Samari
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My new Panasonic SCHT870 arrived today and it was all working fine except that when I went to play some DVD's I found out that it said it was playing the DVD with Pro Logic 2 and not DD 5.1 (even though the DVD has this option) So I presume that the system does not have a DD 5.1 decoder, despite it having 5 speakers and a sub.

    Will I be able to exchange this system with another one as it has already been opened?
     
  2. bowler900

    bowler900
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Downham Market, Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +7
    The 870 has DD5.1 and DTS mine works fine my only complaint is that it has no digital inputs so I can't connect my DVD/HDD recorder to it.
     
  3. Samari

    Samari
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So why when I play a DVD does it say it is using Pro logic 2, I try to change it to DD5.1 or to DTS (depending on DVD) but there is no option for this.
     
  4. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    you positive its a definate DD 5.1 source. on some of my dvd's (older 1's) it says DD but is a 2ch source so it will use PLII to convert using a matrix to give virtual 5.1. out of interest what dvd's were you trying
     
  5. Samari

    Samari
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried it on Gangs of New York, Matrix Revolutions and The Last Samurai. In the manual it only has information for PL2.

    Just to check is DD 5.1 actually a audio track or does it just relate to the number of speakers?

    It seems to me that the system does not have a DD 5.1 decoder only a PL2 one and this must be why it is playing all me DVD's in this format.
     
  6. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    there is a software setting for it is the unit set to auto?..........
     
  8. Samari

    Samari
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep all the options are set to either default or auto.
     
  9. Samari

    Samari
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    But I've looked in my manual and it only has 3 types of audio listed, these are:
    Center focus
    Super surround
    Dolby Pro Logic II

    So it doesn't even mention DTS or DD 5.1 as a default setting and when I go onto the audio settings it says playing in PL2 and gives me the choice of playing PL2 in either music or movie mode but there is no option to change to either DD 5.1 or DTS.
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    that could be the issue...... Have you manually selected DTS 5.1 or DD 5.1 from disc menu?
     
  11. Samari

    Samari
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I can't see any option on any of the DVD's to change the audio mode.


    On the Panasonic site for the system it says it has a DD decoder but it doesn't say that it is a 5.1 decoder so could this be the fault. And as I mentioned earlier, in the manual it gives details about PL2 but it doesn't say anything about DD 5.1 or DTS.
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    have you got any that list DTS on cover??? try one, search menu for options or set-up select DTS
     
  13. Samari

    Samari
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahh it's ok now I've sorted it out. The problem was that there is a button on the remote for PL2 but not for other audio types. So it seemed that when I turned PL2 off then that was it but in actual fact it was switching to DD.
    Anyway thanks for all the help :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...