1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aaarrrgghh!!!

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Rad, Aug 18, 2004.

  1. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Help !!!!!,

    What I've got:

    Pipex ADSL, Router(/modem, I think) plugged into it, USB from that to laptop, ethernet from Router to PC, oh yeah and did I mention a **** load of wires and a ****** off g/f.

    What I'd like:

    A wireless box that replaces the Router/modem that I can sit in the bedroom with no wires and nothing connected to it (well except the ADSL adaptor)
    So I can add a card to my laptop and pc and tidy up the wires.

    What do I need please??, I've looked about and get confused by the fact that some wireless router/modems/eh!! look like they need to be connected to one PC all the time, I just want something that sits on it's own.

    Excuse my daftness,

    Rich.
     
  2. Damnyoureyes

    Damnyoureyes
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure if this is the best forum for this but...
    Basically I reckon you need a wireless modem router all in one then a wireless access card for the pc and and a wireless card (pc mcia) for the laptop.

    Put the modem/router by a phone socket in the top of your house for the best reception then everything should be able to get the signal ok

    There's b and g wireless formats g's better than b (just faster really)

    The netgear stuff is highly regarded

    So I could suggest this as it comes with a free card
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/prod...2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X292ZXJ2aWV3&product_uid=63964

    and then take your pick of one of these(make sure you get the same format as the router)

    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/prod...n=c2hvd3N1YmNhdGVnb3J5X3BhZ2U=&subcat_uid=480

    Ebuyer do cheaper options I've got the b format and their cheapest all in one box and it works fine
    There's also the little USB pen wireless things which you could get if you only wanted to use one at a time
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/prod...n=c2hvd3N1YmNhdGVnb3J5X3BhZ2U=&subcat_uid=482
     
  3. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
  4. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    bump anyone late at night ??
     
  5. SimonInd

    SimonInd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    It will, although I think the b USB device might bring the whole wireless network down to that speed.

    Cheers

    Simon
     
  6. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    Would agree with the Netgear DG834G recommendation above. In addition to the other benefits you have simple installation and a top-notch hardware firewall built in :smashin:

    As for your Wirelss B device... put it down to experience and flog it on the forum and get yourself an entirely wireless-G network.

    BTW. You can use some wired & some wireless if some machine are in close proximity to the router.

    Mark.
     
  7. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cheers guys,

    I just bought the USB device as well.

    Doh!!
     
  8. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Help !!!

    I bought the ebuyer 3com router and I can't get my pipex to connect, I have 'showtime in the logs but I can't connect with my browser.

    Does anyone have one of these with pipes that can help me, I've disabled the fire wall etc.

    Cheers,
    Rich
     
  9. Rad

    Rad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +4
    it's ok, I've got it sussed now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...