A32 occasional 'popping' sound, and servicing

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by sput2001, Aug 21, 2018.

  1. sput2001

    sput2001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +18
    Hi there,

    I have an A32, and I'm getting the occasional popping sound from the left and right front speakers when it's in processor mode. Anyone have any suggestions?

    On the assumption that it needs some kind of service, what's the best option these days: contact Arcam direct, or try a local dealer?

    Any advice gratefully received.
     
  2. peter-d-w

    peter-d-w
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    790
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Skipton
    Ratings:
    +157
    Arcam charge a flat fee for service which I believe is £385. They also insist on the item being shipped in an original box and if you don't have one that is an additional cost.
     
  3. sput2001

    sput2001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +18
    Heck, for a two-channel amp? I might look elsewhere!
     
  4. peter-d-w

    peter-d-w
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    790
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Skipton
    Ratings:
    +157
    it makes more sense to replace it.
     
  5. Arcam_boy

    Arcam_boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    12,065
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,386
    Definitely try a local dealer mate - as above Arcam charge £336 for the fix / service and you have to take it to an authorised Arcam dealer for the return and pay postage. Plus as already stated a new Arcam box if it doesn’t have one which will be £40ish on its own!

    It’d probably be as cheap to buy an a29/38 or push the boat out for a 39 if this one gives up the ghost!
     
  6. sput2001

    sput2001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +18
    Arcam are saying £198 for a repair and general service, and the box thing isn't an issue as I have one. Not as bad as £300+.
     
  7. Arcam_boy

    Arcam_boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    12,065
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,386
    Well that’s certainly better than £336!
     
  8. MrTechGuy

    MrTechGuy
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi we charge £60 to look at the product and we are ex Arcam/Meridian engineers. We then charge for parts if fault and repair is done in the 1st hour then it normally just the parts fee on top of the £60.(Plus shipping)

    www.mrtechguy.co.uk if you want to know more.

    Cheers
    Edd
     
  9. sput2001

    sput2001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +18
    I bit the bullet and went with the Arcam option, but I'll bear you in mind for next time - many thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...