A whole host of questions on Viera setup.

GazTheHat

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

Current Kit: Pioneer DV-444, Yamaha RX-640, Wharfedale Diamond 8.4/8.2 combo, Xbrick, Pronto. QED Sqart AV41 RGB Only Scart Lead, QED Silver anniversary speaker cable.

I'm new to plasma's and here, but i'm reading lots, learning slowly, but also impatient :)

I've bitten the bullet and ordered a Panny Viera 42" woo-hoo. It arrives on monday. Most of the mags seemed to rate it as one, if not 'the' best 42" around, so hopefully i've spent wisely. I don't know too much about plasmas. They're big, flat and i've wanted one for ages!!

What i'm not so sure about is setting it up:

I'm after a wall mount. I'm not interested in a tilt one (why have tilt anyway?), and i'd like it as flush to the wall as possible. Any recommendations? I see the one at AV-Sales is quite popular, any others to compare it against??

Also, it's onto a plasterboard wall, i'm able to access the back of the wall, so was planning to put a wooden frame on the back and latch onto that. Does that sound feasible?? The last thing i want is it to drop off the wall.... :eek:

Component Video. My DVD doesn't support this. Is the picture "that" much better than with the super scart i have??

I'm also planning to swap my Wharfs for some Kef 2005.2's, for more discreet sound (and to stop a 7 week old nipper prodding them). I should maybe take this to the speaker section, but while i'm here, any thoughts/comments on kef eggs? offers? suppliers in scotland?? I'm pretty clued on setting them up (distances etc) - he says.

Any help or URLs appreciated....!!

Cheers,
GazTheHat

There were ones that had free dvd recorders, stands and holidays to florida, but their prices reflected that. I ended up getting it from Empire, their price was one of the lowest i found, plus i had to use them as it was an insurance claim, but that did mean it was screen only.