A .wav or .flac player for hi-fi system

Paradox2701

Standard Member
Reaction score
Dear all,

Currently my hifi setup comprises a basic pioneer dvd player attached to a supernait and a pair of maggie 1.7s. I mainly listen to classical music. I would like to play .flac and .wav files that are not supported by the dvd player. I have been wondering if anyone have listened to the Naim NDX or HDX and compared with Logitech Squeezebox. Are there any other recommendations? The price of the NDX and HDX will get my wife to kill me...but would using the squeezebox be non-hifi? Any opinions? Thanks!

I'm very happy with the performance of the SB Touch.

Wouldn't describe it as 'Non HiFi' at all, and I've been listening to HiFi since the mid-1970s. The quality of your source files will have more of an impact than the sound of the SB.

In order to play your FLAC or WAV files, you'll need them in one of the following places;

On a USB drive that you attach directly to the SB
On a Network-access Storage medium (NAS) within your home network
In a folder shared on your network

You can access your network wirelessly or through ethernet cable, whichever is convenient for you.

Last edited:
Naim have announced the ND5 XS streamer at a lower price point than the NDX - about £2K. The Linn Majik DS would also be on my list to audition.

Many of the streamers still have problems with gapless playback, which is show-stopper for classical music.

Streamer forum - http://www.avforums.com/forums/streamers-network-music-players/

Last edited:
SB touch either with internal or external DAC?

OR a bog standard laptop with a USB DAC?

... but would using the squeezebox be non-hifi?

No less than using the DVD player. Call it New Age Hi Fi if you like.