1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A success story of sorts and a thanks...

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Majik, Sep 1, 2003.

1. Majik

Majik
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well, directly or indirectly, you wonderful people here on the AVS have helped me set up my first HC sound system. Make no mistake - my visuals suck, but I like my music too, so the audio came first. From my first step in threemonths ago with a RS deal, I upgraded last month to Boston Acoustics setup with a PSW1000 sub. Hardly up with most of you, but I have always been one to make the most of what I have got.

The point being, I studied post after post regarding speaker positioning, tips on sub levels etc and have tweaked for almost three weeks now. My GF currently hates me :)

However, there is a very happy end to this story. Last night, the Gf and I sat down to watch a couple of flicks (On the 32" five year old 4:3 TV!!!) with my newly tweaked audio system. Wow. Monsters Inc was a revelation, and seemed even funnier when you could hear voices nattering in the background, plus the added drama of the sub finally tuned in so it can be felt without being heard (best way I can describe it...).

We then progressed to PhoneBooth R1 (After beating my HTPC to death as the XCard spat out the R1 disc until I discovered a wonderful little app!). I loved this film at the cinema, but DAMN! We were there! The suspense, the shock - absolutely superb! I can honestly say I enjoyed it more at home than at the flicks, and I love the flicks!