A Single Aerial for TV and PVR?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by Morpheus, Feb 11, 2014.

Tags:
  1. Morpheus

    Morpheus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have a Humax PVR9150T connected to a Panasonic TX-L32B6B TV.

    Each has a separate indoor aerial plugged into the back.

    Can I make do with a single aerial without losing any functions?

    Some Googling seems to suggest that I could just have a single aerial plugged into the PVR but then the TV wouldn't work in standalone mode.

    Do I need to buy an aerial splitter or what?

    Is that the best solution?

    TIA!
     
  2. outoftheknow

    outoftheknow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,495
    The manual
    http://www.ukfree.tv/retune/Humax_PVR9150T.pdf
    Still covers the ancient art of RF connectivity I think LOL.
    For VCR it suggests the RF Out on the Humax is loop through and in the days of VCRs we used to connect one aerial to that and it fed the signal to the TV as well as doing what it had to do itself. However for a TV by RF it warns that for analogue channels (which you don't have) you must connect separately. That suggests not quite loop through or the whole RF signal would pass to the TV.
    Bottom line I reckon try it and see if digital comes to the TV whilst PVR records etc. and that the RF signal comes through with the PVR on standby at least. Old loop through needed at least standby power on the VCR to work I vaguely remember. the male/female RF cable is pretty cheap. If no joy a splitter should be ok but depends on your aerial reception. Sounds ok if indoor is working.
    Failing all that maybe Humax customer service is reasonable? Number in the manual if it's still correct.
    Good luck
    Edit - presumably the TV tuner is needed for HD viewing? I am leaning towards your current two aerials or the splitter. I just have a feeling "loopthrough" may not mean it and if the Humax is on, and maybe even if on standby, you will get the Humax output via RF to the TV which will be the same output as the SCART and not what you want.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2014
  3. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,749
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,565
    Aerial in to Humax, RF out to Tv and set the Humax power saving to OFF.
     
  4. Morpheus

    Morpheus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Many thanks for your succinct reply, JayCee. :)

    outoftheknow, I have the manual but it merely illustrates possible connections, e.g.,

    5. TV/VCR socket - Connects to the RF IN of the TV or VCR using an RF cable

    without any description of their functionality.

    EDIT: It works perfectly. :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2014

Share This Page

Loading...