1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A Quick Denon 3802 Question.

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by BarryK, Feb 5, 2003.

Tags:
  1. BarryK

    BarryK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have the above amplifier and i just wanted to check that i can connect the speaker outputs of my old kenwood pro-logic amp into the `ext-in` connections of the 3802 in order to use the same set of speakers.
    I think it says in the 3802 manual that this is possible as anything connected to the `ext-in` connections bypasses the 3802 circuitry and ouputs directly to the speakers.
    Just thought I`d check on here incase I damage the 3802.

    Cheers,
    Barry
     
  2. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +827
    The EXT-IN is for external decoders/processors. You feed it a Pre-Amp signal not one that has been amplified already. The EXT IN bypasses the Denons pre-amp section and goes directly to its amplifier section then the speakers.

    Why do you want to use the Kenwood Pro-Logic amp? The Denons own pre-amp section is likely to be superior anyway.
     
  3. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +827
    Yes you would if the signal has already been amplified by your Kenwood.:(
     
  4. BarryK

    BarryK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    The problem I have is that my old kenwood unit has cd/tape decks/turntable etc. but they are all connected together using a ribbon cable and have no phono connections on them, so i was wondering if I connected the speaker output of the amp. to the 3801`s `ext-in` I would then be able to get rid of the kenwoods speakers and still use the cd/tape/turntable.
    Would this damage the 3802 though????

    Barry
     
  5. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +827
    Does the Kenwood have any analogue audio outputs at all? If not, then you won´t be able to plug it into the Denon.
     
  6. BarryK

    BarryK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    No, it has no audio outputs at all. Not possible then??????

    Barry
     
  7. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +827
    Nope, I´m afraid not.
     

Share This Page

Loading...