A question for MAW!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Kopacabana, Mar 17, 2006.

  1. Kopacabana

    Kopacabana
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    MAW - you are a retailer and judging by your posts you possess a wealth of experience and skill in the plasma field. (I'm not sucking up.)

    Would you possibly answer this question for me? I'd just like some advice in a nutshell from someone who 'has seen and done it all':

    Can you recommend a 42"/43" plasma that is HD Ready, will act like a 'normal' TV i.e. built-in speakers, good off-air pictures, excellent DVD pictures from component, and will withstand prolonged PS2 action? Budget preferably under £2k.

    Thanks, in anticipation of your help...

    :D
     
  2. Bacus

    Bacus
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8,980
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Close to the sea
    Ratings:
    +2,920
    I bet its a Panny !!! :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
     
  3. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Why, would you recommend a XDE to a gamer? Check out the burn/image retention threads, yours may be fine but others are not. It would be a panasonic, yes. For a TV, all integrated, the PX60 might take some beating. However, your screen will be tougher and cheaper if you go for a standard def version. It will still be HD compatible, with HDMI, but they are tough as old boots. Evem Tescos can't trash a Panny SD screen. The new ones should be with us soon.
     
  4. Kopacabana

    Kopacabana
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks MAW.

    42PX60 it is then...

    :smashin:
     
  5. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,448
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +555
    I think MAW is recommending the new PD60 first of as being a safer bet than the PX60....not sure if you read that the same!
     
  6. Kopacabana

    Kopacabana
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    I presume the PD60 will be a panel. A panel is no good for me.
     
  7. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,448
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +555
    The PD60 is the entry level plasma TV and is HD compatible. Not sure we will see it in great numbers though.
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    a PHD8 will still meet your criteria far better and the P42XHA58 Fujitsu is the best but well over budget...Why is a panel "no good" I gurentee i spec a system based on a panel that meets all your requirements! inc Budget
     
  9. Dom996

    Dom996
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +29
    That's why I can't burn/retain on my PWD6. No matter how I try. :smashin:
     
  10. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +54
    for me its between the PHD8 and the pw8, but i cannot make my mind up, from a cash flow point of view its makes sence to go for the pw8, but will it perform ok with my lumagen hdp scaler and sdi modded dv27 and sky+ compaired to the phd8, i would buy the hdmi module to go with either one of these panels, just need a push to finally decide which one to get,HELP anyone please.

    It will have to do me for about 2 years and i may get Sky hi-def when it comes out

    cheers

    richard
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    why dont you go and se a PHD8 set up with almost identical set up and then try and walk away!
     
  12. Dekim

    Dekim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I feel so guilty reading these threads again. I lurked for so long reading up on plasmas reading comments from all the nice forum peeps on these forums like horneydragon, maw, gordon, ferdinand, etc etc etc (my mind is tired and i have a mental block at all the rest) , I ended up buying the panny 42phd8 after nearly buying a the tv version pv500.

    I have to say its a bloody wonderful panel. It looks gorgeous but the picture look even better. The memories of my philips 36" crt (which I also liked) are now history. I can't recommend this panel enough. I am one happy happy bunny!

    Good luck in whatever you decide on and I hope you are as happyu as I am

    Deks
     
  13. gpa

    gpa
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,835
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +308
    I have got to say the PHD8 again, although not running a scaler, but having had it calibrated in my opinion there is currently very little to touch it. Its great when my friends come round and I watch them turn green with envey, especially as most have pio's LOL, comments such as colours, blacks, greens on the football,cricket and rugger balanced and detailed and no dot crawl and thats on sky!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    But who am I to tell you what you should buy, you would be a fool not to demo several pannels set up properly, rather than as they did and buy just because a mag or one person say so.

    hope this helps :thumbsup:
     
  14. Kopacabana

    Kopacabana
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7

    A panel is no good because I can't install it. Due to my current job, I live in a rented Georgian flat and will be doing for a while yet, so I am not allowed to make any alterations to the premises.
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    thats a nonsense argument mate a panel does not nee to be wall mounted many are on table top or floor stands!
    Example of a panel here:http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=316272 (not on a wall)
     
  16. ashv12

    ashv12
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +47
     
  17. mk85

    mk85
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Generally the problem with pio's is screen burn....

    Games are especially susceptable.
     
  18. Walter Sobchak

    Walter Sobchak
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    Do the PHD8 Panels look £650 better than the PWD8 though?
     
  19. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    only your eyes can tell you that!

    and as for S3 running 1080p i think that may well be a rarity for a while also its not a great idea to base a £2k+ purchase on hardware that isnt and wont be availabe for 6+ months!
     
  20. mk85

    mk85
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    exactly why i am going for a pwd8.

    Esp if you are getting a complete AV system...

    because the amp/cables etc will become outdated.

    My view is save the 600.... invest it at 10% at the barclays account.

    In three years thatll be £800 and you can put that towards a complete new HD system... including hdmi amp, ps3, skyhd (with loads of hd channels), bbc hd, hd-dvd or bluray (whichever wins).
     
  21. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484
    trouble is that £650 means different things to all of us, depending on how much we earn, etc, etc. You'll be really happy with a PWD8, but if you're anything like me you'll get it and be constantly wondering........"how much happier would I be if I had spent that £650"........then you'll end up buying one anyway. :D
     
  22. mk85

    mk85
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    you've got both (albeit pw7)... Do you think its worth it...
     
  23. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484
    well, personally yes I do but as I say it's down to how easily you can afford the extra.
     
  24. mk85

    mk85
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Even though you havent got any HD input yet?.....
     
  25. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484
    well I have the 360, and 'soon' I'll have Sky HD and HD DVD, from what I've seen of teh 720p trailers I've downloaded on 360 I can't wait for more. It's also a peace of mind thing for me, as I know what I'm like and I would always be wondering....now I don't have to :)
     
  26. mk85

    mk85
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    how are you going to input all those HD items into your plasma???

    Which amp are going to use???
     
  27. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,712
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +484
    well I have an HDMI board which I'll use for Sky HD and just route sound through the amp. I'll get another HDMI board for HD DVD and again just route sound through the amp and 360 will continue to go component to VGA via the amp (3805). Though I may just buy a 3806 and move 3805 to other room.
     
  28. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    LOL then you will have to change evreything in the other room for BLACK!
    Have your tried 720p throughthe PW7?
     
  29. mk85

    mk85
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ie use amp just for sound... rather than video switching?

    Dont hdmi cables carry sound...? or does the amp improve the quality of sound?

    HDMI boards:

    Is it possible to get a single board with lots ie 2/3 inputs... for the phd8?
     
  30. Walter Sobchak

    Walter Sobchak
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37

    Well if you can afford 2 plasmas, I suppose you have to have one HD ready panel! ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...