Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

"A problem occurred with copyright protection"

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by loftfuton, Sep 24, 2004.

  1. loftfuton

    loftfuton
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    BELFAST
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi

    Cant play DVD's through projector and this is the error message I get. Ok when I watch on pc monitor however. Windows Media Player help page says I may need my "DVD decoder software configured". Tried microsoft troubleshooter but it was no help. Any suggestions and background info on this ??

    Windows XP, 3.4g processor,Raedon pro 9800 graphics card, feeding Sony VW10 projector using analogue RGB signal from DVI-I socket.

    Thanks for your help

    Harry
     
  2. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +9,854
    what software dvd program you using?
     
  3. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,742
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +37
    Get AnyDVD or DVDidle, that should fix your problem
     
  4. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I don't think it's a region/CSS problem since the DVD plays on the monitor.

    How are you playing a DVD with WMP, as of 9 at least M$ don't supply decoders? :confused: My guess is that what ever decoder you ARE using doesn't want to play through an external connector, I can't think of any other 'copyright' issues here.

    If I'm right then AnyDVD et. al. won't change things, trying a different player such as PowerDVD may.
     
  5. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    HDCP???? Maybe your monitor doesn't give a stuff but your PJ does?
     
  6. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I thought about HDMI but he's using RGB via DVI-I so it can't be HDMI/HDCP related.
     
  7. SeaneyC

    SeaneyC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,031
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Reading, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +54
    How is the monitor connected? (DVI, VGA port?) And are you using dual heads or just swapping the connection?
     
  8. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    You will find that HDCP is on the DVI output as well, it isn't just HDMI outputs that carry it.......I wouldn't mention RGB and DVI in the same sentence. When you say DVI-I do you mean purely analogue, if so I'd say DVI-A for clarity?
     
  9. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Well, since HDMI = DVI + HDCP then it's the same as saying HDCP over DVI-D I'd say. :)

    It's also my experience that one uses DVI-D to indicate a digital connection, while DVI-I presumes analog .. I'm not sure I've ever seen DVI-A as an acronym. Saying RGB and DVI in the same sentence isfine I'd suggest, since the analog component (VGA) of DVI-I IS RGB, is it not?

    However, as I also noted the original poster seemed quite explicit in saying he's using analog not digital, therefore HDCP/HDMI isn't relevent to his problem in whatever way one wishes to describe it. :)
     
  10. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    Hiya.
    I believe you know what I meant ;)
    DVI-I means that both Analogue and digital signals are present, i'd wager the monitor only accepts digital signals on its DVI port assuming its a flat panel, so if the chap is using the same connecting lead.......... :oops: Analogue won't be present on a DVI-D lead... :)
    Maybe we should ask if the lead being used is the full DVI-I lead at both ends, this assumes the pj has a DVI connector? Or is it just the DVI-D/I variety/converted? The settings in the 9800 setup menu might also be wrong for the pj? I think the 9800 has a VGA output port so it might be wise to try that one to the pj and see if a picture results? Do you know if EDID issues can get involved with ATI cards like they do with NVidia, again assuming the pj has a DVI port?
    None of this might be relevent but what the hell eh.......
     
  11. loftfuton

    loftfuton
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    BELFAST
    Ratings:
    +2
    Chaps

    Thanks a lot for your input.

    The Sony pj is capable of accepting 720p, and 1080i signals, and Computer Formats: RGBHV, RGsB, 640x480, 800x600,1024x768, 1280x1024 (scaled down to 1024x768)

    I'm using the dual o/p 9800 pro card with my monitor fed from the VGA o/p and the pj from the DVI port using the full 29 pin DVI-I connector, and fully wired cable. A converter at the end of this cable picks up the RGB signal only on 3 phonos to feed to the pj.

    Using PowerDVD 4.0 software, and have tried both Region 1 and 2 DVD's. When I try to play with PowerDVD it refuses to run - no error messages, dvd just does not play ????

    Harry.
     
  12. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    What the error means is
    Your graphics card does not have macrovision included in its drivers
    power dvd sees there is no macrovision and will not allow the video out to
    be enabled. Get a a new graphics card or find drivers for your current card
    with macrovision included or use "dvd region free"
     
  13. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +194
    Hi Harry.

    What happens if the VGA PC port is fed directly to the pj VGA input (assuming it has one?).

    I may be wrong but the PC output (VGA or DVI-I (analogue) is RGBHV, if your only connecting 3 phonos at the PJ end, soemwhere along the line you will need to change RGBHV into RGsB is this being done? It needs a sync one way or another.

    I doubt macrovision is to blame as you say the DVD plays fine on your monitor (please confirm)? The card is also not to blame as our 9800 here connected DVI to DVI plasma plays DVD's just fine (Theatertek, Power DVD, et all....).
    There has to be a simple explaination here, dig a bit deeper....
     
  14. loftfuton

    loftfuton
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    BELFAST
    Ratings:
    +2
    Graham

    The pj doesn't have a VGA connector.

    As for the sync issue, I can get the pc desktop fully functioning on the screen via the pj DVI-I RGB o/p, and play games - Far Cry on DVD-rom for example - , but it all falls down round my ankles when I try to run a 'movie' dvd.

    The DVI-I adaptor I use can be found at

    http://www.videocapturecard.com/hdtvaiwr8500.html

    and delivers component video (YPbPr) output to a High Definition TV it says.

    Is the sync signal only an issue with movies, or does the fact that all the other pc functions are displayed ok via the pj mean this is ok ??

    Harry
     
  15. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Actually I think it could be the problem.

    AIUI playing the DVD on the internal monitor wouldn't invoke Macrovision since the de-protected signal isn't available externally for recording, which after all is what Digital Restrictions Management is all about.

    However, playback via the external connector is precisely what Macrovision is intended to protect so it is at least a plausible explanation.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice