1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

a novice needs some help!! please!!

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by haven't-a-clue, Oct 17, 2004.

1. haven't-a-clue

haven't-a-clue

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi to all who read this, i am a novice when it comes to hcpc, so looking for some help. i'm thinking of buying a hcpc. i would like to upload all my DVDs onto it and then connect to my amp. my question is do hcpc come with hdmi connections, or would DVi be the better way to go when running the cables between 20-30 feet???

i've also read that hcpc can give better quality than DVD players(????). but do they mean when you play the DVD from the DVD ROM or if you are running the DVD from the harddrive???

also if you can give me some advice on the computer components to use: motherboard, proccessor, RAM, gracifics card, sound card, fans etc....

i'v also heard that the scsi hadrdrive is the best to use( because of its rmp), is this true???

and last but not least, can anyone recommend really good software. i would also like to use the hcpc for normal computer functions, internet, mp3 playing, windows etc...

i know i'v asked alot from you, but any help you can give me on any of the subjects is greatly appriciated, thanks :smashin:

2. KraGorn

KraGorn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    There are no graphics cards with HDMI, however DVI cards will connect to HDMI projectors etc. just fine. 7.5m DVI cables are pretty cheap, Lindy's for example are good, however 10m and over is starting to get a bit long and Lindy's 10m have caused problems in the past, you'll need to think about spending somewhat more.