1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A new HTPC Source for my AV192R

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by edward, Oct 18, 2005.

1. edward

edward

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +29
    I said a few weeks ago that I’d report back with costs on my attempts to wean myself of my total dependence on Audiolab. I’m still using my AV192R but I have a new source, so…

Until you’ve seen a decent HTPC in action, it is hard to comprehend just how good the user experience can be. Even some of the free software is amazing in what it does to make life so easy. I think however, that many TAG owners will be more interested in how the stuff performs. I’ll get to that in a paragraph or two.

Firstly, you have to allow for the fact that I’m still learning this system. I’m using the wireless keyboard and mouse to control it like a conventional PC. Once you get the hang of a mouse that lets you move the cursor by waving it in the air, control really starts. OK, the mouse works on hard surfaces too but where is the fun in that? Xlobby provides an intuitive front end that allows you to scroll through pages of DVD cover images. Click on it and you get a page of notes about the film. Click the Play lozenge and TheaterTek 2 takes over as the player.

TheaterTek 2 has pages of hot keys: V brings up the ability to adjust the about 6 different image quality parameters. Hop along the task bar and you can select from the audio options available for the file. S lets you toggle subtitles. Then there is the aspect ratio menu with its own little GUI to let you set default adjustments for each standard aspect ratio (so it fills the screen properly) or you can store them on a per-DVD basis. Are you getting a picture of phenomenal flexibility if you want to tinker?