1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A little bird tells me (Nokia related)...

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by lynx, Jun 1, 2003.

Tags:
  1. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    That as of now, Nokia will cease to sp lock any of their handsets. :)
     
  2. groundy

    groundy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1
    I always assumed it was a particular Network's choice as to whether or not they SP locked the phone?

    Orange & T-Mobile always lock their contract phones whereas the others generally do not. Are Nokia forcing the particular network in to supplying the phones fully unlocked from now on? If so great news.....except for the unlockers :laugh:.
     
  3. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    It would appear that Jorma Ollila (Nokias ceo) is the driving force behind the World Mobile Phone Manufacturers Association, and has had many long discussions with the World Service Providers Association regarding the above. The service providers may have less influence than they thought here.

    A pristine set of Nokia data leads may be for sale soon :laugh:
     
  4. galthop

    galthop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Messages:
    438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    I'm not sure about T mobile always being locked. I got an 8310 on t mobile this time last year and it came unlocked and just this week I got a 7210 on t mobile which also arrived unlocked. I'm assuming they are unlocked because I've tried a vodaphone sim in both and I could make calls.
     
  5. NickXX

    NickXX
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I think Orange are the worst when it comes to locked handsets.

    I was told that O2 and Vodaphone cannot be locked out from each other, even tho they can lock out T-mobile and Orange - somethign about O2 and Vodaphone being on the GSM900 network, and Orange/T-mob being on the GSM1800 network. Orange and T-mob can lock down to their own networks.

    I've bought 2 Nokias from O2 (pay monthly), and neither have been locked - I use a pay as you go Orange Sim in one of them.
     
  6. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    As a rule, O2 & Vodafone tend not to lock their contract handsets. Orange are well known for doing it as are Virgin.Both of these providers used to supply the master code-to lift the sp lock-if you asked nicely and maybe paid £30.I don't know if they are so free at providing it now though.
     
  7. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    I can only speak for Virgin, but this is what they have to say on getting a phone unlocked if you bought it from them, this comes from their online T's & C's:

    So in other words as long as you've spent £30 on airtime, they'll let you have the codes to unlock the handset. I can confirm that this is really straightforward as I was able to request this for a handset belonging to my parents. The relevant papwerwork arrived promptly.
     
  8. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    Not a Nokia 3310 by any chance ?
     
  9. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    I think it was.

    Any special significance to this then?
     
  10. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    There is a connection point under the battery which will enable the phone to be connected to your pc via the serial port.You could have done it yourself in a few seconds - no big deal though :)
     
  11. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Gotcha, that would be the one that resembles the connection point on an 8210??

    To be honest, by the time I'd got a cable together and tracked down the right software I figured I might as well get the unlock codes sent to me, especially as they were free.

    Of course if a company was to make a ridiculous charge for this then I can understand why some people may take another approach.
     

Share This Page

Loading...