A journey with my Systemdek IIX (updated)

Numpty112233

Established Member
Reaction score
A JOURNEY WITH MY SYSTEMDEK TURNTABLE.

PART 1 (written Oct 2021)

Let’s be frank from the start. My knowledge re turntables at the beginning of this journey on a scale of 1 to 10 was round about 1 and has, over the years, increased to maybe 2 or 3. I am no expert. Far from it.

I got my Systemdek IIX in the late 1980s. It was 2nd hand from Billy Vee hifi shop and was a couple of years old. It came with a Linn Basik LVX arm but no cartridge for the princely sum of £275. This was just about affordable; I was delighted to have picked up a turntable otherwise out of my price range - and one that was not just What Hifi Magazine’s Turntable of the year, but Product of the Year, 3 years running.

I stuck a £30 Ortofon 510 on it, plugged it into the phono stage in my Pioneer A400 amp, spun Roger Water’s Pros & Cons of Hitchhiking… and was immediately disappointed. The sound was flat and dull compared to CD in my Arcam Alpha+. I didn’t know it at the time but have subsequently learned that both the stylus and phono stage were suffocating it (amongst other things, more of which later). This was the ‘80s, I was young and CD was cool (and commanded a healthy premium over vinyl…) so my Systemdek gathered dust - whilst the silver disk collection expanded - and, eventually, it ended up in the loft.