A general rambling with questions

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by Twin Turbo, May 1, 2007.

1. Twin Turbo

Twin Turbo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +81
    Morning one and all.

After getting used to my new HV20, I find it a lovely little piece of kit. Very easy to pick up and use, and the Auto setting makes it pretty foolproof.:thumbsup:

That said, there's something I can't figure out. I recorded pretty much 6 minutes of combined footage, with plenty of pause/record stops throughout.

When I hooked this up through MovieFactory 6, it all came through as one big file...no stops. Reading the HV20 manual, the only thing I can find says that you need to use the remote to set certain timestops. Surely this can't be the only way? Or is MF6 the problem?

And now that I mention MF6, it's only a trial version I'm using at the minute. What software would people recommend? I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to video editing, although I have used the basic editing features on my DMR-EH80V DVD recorder, and I love the whole editing thing. I literally could spend a few hours chopping/renaming/partial erasing tv footage.
    So I'd like something powerful, (fairly) easy to pick-up, and something that allows HDV footage to be dropped onto a standard dvd-r. Any suggestions?

Also, and slightly off topic, I'm gonna need a new pc for editing. My pc at home crashes when I try run MF6, and even my pc here in work (P4 2.8GHz, 1gb RAM) slows way down when I launch it. But at least it works!