A few questions :)

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by probedb, Oct 20, 2005.

  1. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +180
    Hi all,

    I'm not new to HTPCs but I'm currently considering whether or not to get MCE2k5. I'm sure I could trawl google for the answers to my questions but since you peeps already run it I thought I'd ask you :)

    1. Can it playback .flac files? I found http://www.cole2k.net/?display=CP-S but not sure whether it can be used in MCE?
    2. Can I view music/videos over shares? I have a server with all my music etc on and don't want to keep anything but new recordings on the HTPC.
    3. What DVB-T card is best for the system? I currently own a Nebula USB DVB-T but so far they only have beta drivers for the PCI card.
    4. Can I use software such as DVD-Architect for creating DVDs with the recorded files?
    5. Can I play back hi def .ts files?

    I think that's it.

    Answers greatfully received :)

    Cheers,

    Paul.
     
  2. Supersonic

    Supersonic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +219
    Bump...
     
  3. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +180
    Cheers!
     
  4. Rambles

    Rambles
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    10,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2,205
    Never heard of them!
    Yes
    Black Gold / Sweetspot MCE has good reputation
    Don't know
    Sort of - navigation of these files is a bit flaky.

    What you can't do within the MCE GUI, you can probably do outside of it, as it is just XP Pro with MCE add-on.

    Hope that helps - better than nothing!
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2017
  5. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    I'd go for the Hauppauge Nova-T PCI, great card, great drivers, great support..

    Link
     
  6. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +180
    Cheers for the info :) I may just go for it, after all it's not that expensive in OEM, and make sure I get the remote as well.

    lisag - FLAC is a lossless audio format :) http://flac.sourceforge.net/
     
  7. windfall

    windfall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    LFC Kop End
    Ratings:
    +68
    I happened to install the cole media pack as it seemed to be the latest set of codecs. It works absolutely fine BUT it installed Divx v6 standard. everytime I play a Divx encoded file Media Center gets pushed to background because the divx tray icon coming on and off (which is a bit annoying).
    Other then that its ok and plays everything I have thrown at it. With Rollup 2 installed all my .TS files are playing via Media Center cept I have no sound, so I will have to look into that at some point.

    Hope this kinda helps.

    Tone
     
  8. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +180
    Still debating as from reading other posts, WMP cannot do ASIO which means I can't bypass Kmixer with my card so no chance of bit-perfect digital out :(
     
  9. typing00

    typing00
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi

    Apparently there are 2 ways to bypass K-mixer using WMP.

    1) Go for a M-audio transit USB which somehow bypasses it being a USB device. Cost £60.

    2) Buy an ultra high-end sound card like RME 9632 (£270 to £350) or Lynxtwo B (£800) which have drivers that natively bypass K-mixer. You need to set the sound level in WMP to 0dB to prevent any interference.

    My problem is that all my lossless codec is encoded in .ape, to use it in MCE2005 I would have to convert all of them to WMA. I am not sure if the quality would be preserved if I used dbpoweramp convertor.
     
  10. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +180
    I'm pretty sure the codec pack I mentioned above will do ape? I just went with FLAC as it has better support, maybe not the absolute best compression but HDDs are so cheap :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...