A DIY Idea using my Old Car Sub - RE SE12

Discussion in 'DIY Speaker & Subwoofer Building' started by Bellur, Aug 7, 2013.

1. Bellur

Bellur
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey folks,

Im pretty new to the home audio scene. I used to be pretty into my car audio and in an old car had a modest sound system which I always enjoyed fettling with. Now I am a bit older I have taken a keen interest in my home av set up.

I have so far purchased and Onkyo TX-NR515 amp and a pair of Monitor Audio Bronze BX2 Bookshelf speakers. Just with this I am very happy with the improvement over the standard TV speakers! Naturally I cant wait to add the remaining components for a 5.1 set up. My set up will be used as much for tv/movies as it will for music.

Admittedly during my car days, I did enjoy my bass! I am looking forward to having some bass in my home set up, something I have never experienced before. I was looking online and particularly at the BK 200 series subwoofer. Then I got to thinking about if it would be possible to use my Resonant Engineering 12" as a driver for a DIY sub build. The driver is dual 4ohm and rated to 600W RMS. In my car I had it in a 1.8 cu ft slot ported box tuned to 28Hz. This would prob be a bit too large for my room. I don't mind going sealed to save space and to achieve a bit more control in the home audio environment.

Basically I am asking for a bit of direction as to whether or not this idea is feasible and also any ideas on box specifications, amp options etc or am I better sticking with the BK200 series idea?

Sorry for the noob intro post, but I am sure I will learn as I go along and I look forward to the ideas and hopefully getting some much needed bass into my set up!

Thanks!

2. Jameskatie

Jameskatie
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,102
  3. scottthehat

scottthehat
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: