1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A couple of Q's for you

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by OutKast, Apr 3, 2002.

  1. OutKast

    OutKast
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys,

    Just got into the ' Gotta have a Home Cinema' bug ;) and have a couple of questions:-

    1) If i use a B-tech B22 rgb scart splitter for my ps2 and xbox, is it worth me buying a really decent scart to use from the splitter to the tv? I thought that it wouldn't make much difference seeing the splitter is in there - therefore a normal one would do!?

    2) If this is a silly question just slap me ;) - Can you get dolby digital 5.1 or dts using a phono lead from the source to the DD/DTS decoder or is it only through digital connectio e.g. optical or coax?

    Many thanks in advance for your help.

    Regards

    OutKast
     
  2. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Never used a splitter, but would think that if you bought a scart the same quality as the splitter you won't be far out for keeping the quality of picture you already have.

    D/D and DTS......A DVD player with D/D or D/D and DTS decoder onboard connected to and amp with 6channel inputs uses phonos to deliver the D/D and DTS sound. I'm going buy what iv'e had in the past, Yamaha DSP595 with 6channel inputs, and a Panasonic 350 with onboard 5.1 decoder.

    An amp with the decoders onboard connected to a DVD without will need a coaxial/optical lead for the 5.1 sound.

    bob
     
  3. OutKast

    OutKast
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for the reply bob.

    Ok, I have a DVD with built in DD/DTS decoder and want to connect it (using a normal phono lead) to an Amp which is also a DD/DTS decoder - Will i get DD/DTS this way - or does it HAVE to be Optical/Coax connection??

    Regards
     
  4. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Use the decoder in the amp (prefered to the onboard decoder in the DVD) and connect with either optical/coaxial.

    bob
     
  5. OutKast

    OutKast
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok - but if i do connect it up with a phono lead instead of a optical lead - what will i get - will it be dolby 5.1 or just stereo?
     
  6. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +319
    stereo/pro logic unless you have 6 phono outputs on your dvd player.
     
  7. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As JSW says,

    Phonos = stereo/ dpl

    optical/coaxial = digital.....5.1, DTS etc
     
  8. OutKast

    OutKast
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok guys - thanks for clearing that one up!

    Regards
     
  9. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,180
    a single phono lead can be used as a co-ax connection...
     
  10. OutKast

    OutKast
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok cheers mjn - is the sound quality from coax considerably poorer compared to optical?
     
  11. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    OutKast,go ahead and use your phono to connect from player to amp,it will work ok! :)
     
  12. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,180
    nope....both transmit the digital signal as 1's and 0's......optical cannot be affected by interference due to the fact its light going down a cable

    Unlike a co-ax connection, which is electrical, so can be affected by mains supplys/cables, etc.

    and LYNX..he can, and it would work...
     
  13. OutKast

    OutKast
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the help mjn,

    So if i do use the coax connection - what type of lead is it? Can i use a single phono connector type lead?
     
  14. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    That is what i said :confused:
     
  15. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,180
    u can, but for best performance get a cable that is well shielded, to prevent interference. they can be brought for about £15-20 from any decent hi-fi...

    and lynx..i thought you were being sarcastic.... :)
     
  16. OutKast

    OutKast
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks mjn (and lynx) for your advice :)

    Regards
     

Share This Page

Loading...