A couple of Q's for you

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by OutKast, Apr 3, 2002.

  1. OutKast

    OutKast
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys,

    Just got into the ' Gotta have a Home Cinema' bug ;) and have a couple of questions:-

    1) If i use a B-tech B22 rgb scart splitter for my ps2 and xbox, is it worth me buying a really decent scart to use from the splitter to the tv? I thought that it wouldn't make much difference seeing the splitter is in there - therefore a normal one would do!?

    2) If this is a silly question just slap me ;) - Can you get dolby digital 5.1 or dts using a phono lead from the source to the DD/DTS decoder or is it only through digital connectio e.g. optical or coax?

    Many thanks in advance for your help.

    Regards

    OutKast
     
  2. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Never used a splitter, but would think that if you bought a scart the same quality as the splitter you won't be far out for keeping the quality of picture you already have.

    D/D and DTS......A DVD player with D/D or D/D and DTS decoder onboard connected to and amp with 6channel inputs uses phonos to deliver the D/D and DTS sound. I'm going buy what iv'e had in the past, Yamaha DSP595 with 6channel inputs, and a Panasonic 350 with onboard 5.1 decoder.

    An amp with the decoders onboard connected to a DVD without will need a coaxial/optical lead for the 5.1 sound.

    bob
     
  3. OutKast

    OutKast
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for the reply bob.

    Ok, I have a DVD with built in DD/DTS decoder and want to connect it (using a normal phono lead) to an Amp which is also a DD/DTS decoder - Will i get DD/DTS this way - or does it HAVE to be Optical/Coax connection??

    Regards
     
  4. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Use the decoder in the amp (prefered to the onboard decoder in the DVD) and connect with either optical/coaxial.

    bob
     
  5. OutKast

    OutKast
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok - but if i do connect it up with a phono lead instead of a optical lead - what will i get - will it be dolby 5.1 or just stereo?
     
  6. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,284
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +333
    stereo/pro logic unless you have 6 phono outputs on your dvd player.
     
  7. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As JSW says,

    Phonos = stereo/ dpl

    optical/coaxial = digital.....5.1, DTS etc
     
  8. OutKast

    OutKast
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok guys - thanks for clearing that one up!

    Regards
     
  9. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    23,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +11,453
    a single phono lead can be used as a co-ax connection...
     
  10. OutKast

    OutKast
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok cheers mjn - is the sound quality from coax considerably poorer compared to optical?
     
  11. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,652
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +302
    OutKast,go ahead and use your phono to connect from player to amp,it will work ok! :)
     
  12. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    23,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +11,453
    nope....both transmit the digital signal as 1's and 0's......optical cannot be affected by interference due to the fact its light going down a cable

    Unlike a co-ax connection, which is electrical, so can be affected by mains supplys/cables, etc.

    and LYNX..he can, and it would work...
     
  13. OutKast

    OutKast
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the help mjn,

    So if i do use the coax connection - what type of lead is it? Can i use a single phono connector type lead?
     
  14. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,652
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +302
    That is what i said :confused:
     
  15. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    23,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +11,453
    u can, but for best performance get a cable that is well shielded, to prevent interference. they can be brought for about £15-20 from any decent hi-fi...

    and lynx..i thought you were being sarcastic.... :)
     
  16. OutKast

    OutKast
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks mjn (and lynx) for your advice :)

    Regards
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice