1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

a beginner needs help.....

Discussion in 'Portable Disc & Media Players & Recorders' started by simo98048, Apr 12, 2005.

1. simo98048

simo98048

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, im a beginner so sorry if my questions are bad!
    ive got a ford mk4 (97 P plate), with a 3000 cassette deck. This stereo system only has speakers at the front (a tweeter n normal speaker in each door) which are both factory. I would like to keep the present speakers (mybe replace them in the future) and would like to ADD some speakers at the back! how would i go about doing this? would i require an amp? what speakers should i use?. I want to keep the big casette head unit but if i have to, replace it with a new casette unit, can i keep the present ones? im on a tight budget though! Thanx for reading, pelase try n help me out!

2. cliocarl

cliocarl

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Ive been away from the ICE game for a while....but....

You should pull out the unit if you can and see if there are available connections for rear speakers.

If not then perhaps you could locate the wires going to the door speakers and feed off them in parallel to some speakers for the rear.

Really though...if I was you I would try and pick up a cheap SONY CD headunit say off ebay for around £30 and then you will be able to wire up front and rears.

The Sony 6x9's in Argos - the standard ones sound okish really. I amped mine up with a V12 in few years back, everyone was amazed at the sound and were surprised to see what it was coming from.

Amping really just gives it more power, ie it can go louder without distorting to soon. Really to start with just get your amp to power your sub and rear speakers (when you get to the amping stages)

Hope that helps

3. simo98048

simo98048

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: