9976 component dvi

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by Leerock, Feb 11, 2005.

Tags:
  1. Leerock

    Leerock
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys
    I have a vey cheap sony dvd player connected to my philips 9976
    and now i ve decided to buy the pioneer dv575 which has component out.
    What cable and converter do i need to connect component out to dvi in?
    I ve heard that i need a component to vga converter.
    why vga?
     
  2. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,031
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 9986 come with a Component to VGA and VGA to DVI adapters. Don't know why there isn't a Component to DVI adapter, maybe they just used what was already available.
     
  3. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi Leerock,

    Did your 9976 not come with the Component/VGA/DVI adapter? If you don't have one of these you may not be able to connect component at all. The reason I say this is that your 9976 may not have the correct Firmware to run component connections. Please get back to us about this ASAP.

    I can send you a picture of the adapter if you want.

    Jimmy
     
  4. Leerock

    Leerock
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your replies guys
    I ve found the cable and the adapter in tv s box
    and i ve just bought the pio dv575.
    I get no picture from dv575 via component.
    If i connect it with a scart is fine but when using component there is nothing displayed on the tv.
    Pio is set to output progressive via component.
    I ve checked my connections and are fine.
    I use the yellow cable for Y, the white one for Pb and the red one for Pr.
    Am I doing sth wrong?
    Should i enable sth in tv's settings?
     
  5. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    Connect the cable as follows. Red/Red, Green/White, Blue/Yellow.

    As long as your TV s v2.X it should work.

    Let us know.

    Jimmy
     
  6. osbornej76

    osbornej76
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    make sure the 575 is set to progressive scan.. otherwise I just got a blue screen. I just used an old scart first to get the 575's menu and changed to prog scan, then rehooked up component and voila!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice