1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

9976 component dvi

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Leerock, Feb 11, 2005.

  1. Leerock

    Leerock
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys
    I have a vey cheap sony dvd player connected to my philips 9976
    and now i ve decided to buy the pioneer dv575 which has component out.
    What cable and converter do i need to connect component out to dvi in?
    I ve heard that i need a component to vga converter.
    why vga?
     
  2. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    The 9986 come with a Component to VGA and VGA to DVI adapters. Don't know why there isn't a Component to DVI adapter, maybe they just used what was already available.
     
  3. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi Leerock,

    Did your 9976 not come with the Component/VGA/DVI adapter? If you don't have one of these you may not be able to connect component at all. The reason I say this is that your 9976 may not have the correct Firmware to run component connections. Please get back to us about this ASAP.

    I can send you a picture of the adapter if you want.

    Jimmy
     
  4. Leerock

    Leerock
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your replies guys
    I ve found the cable and the adapter in tv s box
    and i ve just bought the pio dv575.
    I get no picture from dv575 via component.
    If i connect it with a scart is fine but when using component there is nothing displayed on the tv.
    Pio is set to output progressive via component.
    I ve checked my connections and are fine.
    I use the yellow cable for Y, the white one for Pb and the red one for Pr.
    Am I doing sth wrong?
    Should i enable sth in tv's settings?
     
  5. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    Connect the cable as follows. Red/Red, Green/White, Blue/Yellow.

    As long as your TV s v2.X it should work.

    Let us know.

    Jimmy
     
  6. osbornej76

    osbornej76
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    make sure the 575 is set to progressive scan.. otherwise I just got a blue screen. I just used an old scart first to get the 575's menu and changed to prog scan, then rehooked up component and voila!
     

Share This Page

Loading...