1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

9700 Pro to Plasma

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by aerialman, Jun 3, 2003.

1. aerialman

aerialman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am thinking/about to buy a 1024x1024 plasma, and as a newbie I am unsure wether I will get a good enough output from my Saphire 9700Pro card as 1024x1024 is not a listed reolution in the ATI driver software.

All I really want to know is will I be able to connect and play games and use the desktop without loss of quality or will bits of the screen be missing/stretched? I intend to coonect with VGA cable.

Thanks

2. StooMonster

StooMonster

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +314
    I've just connected a Radeon 9700 Pro to my plasma -- been buying new HTPC kit again -- and running at native resolution of 1366x768.

You can use Powerstrip to setup new resolutions, e.g. 1024x1024
    http://www.entechtaiwan.com/ps.htm
    It's easy to use, although can be complex one you get past the very basics; however, help can be found all over the internet.

Your key consideration here is that "1024x1024" plasmas are ALIS; which are the only plasma screens that interlace. ALIS means Alternate LIghting of Surfaces. The native resolution for the "1024x1024" ALIS screen used by Fujitsu and Hitachi is actually 1024x512. Two interlaced fields in the same frame are displayed one after the other, to give the illusion of the vertical resolution being twice the native resolution.

From what I understand, ALIS plasmas are best fed with interlaced signals rather than progressive signals that a PC (or prog-scan DVD player) will output. This is because the hardware inside the screen will digitise and then interlace the incoming signal (even the RGBHV one from a PC).

Luckily Powerstrip allows you to create interlaced resolutions too.