1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8mm on MiniDV cameras

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by Daryl, May 22, 2004.

1. Daryl

Daryl

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, :hiya: this is my first post, and I am new to video cameras, so forgive me if I ask a stupid question.

I have video recorded on 8mm tapes which I videoed using an analogue 8 Samsung VP-L600 video camera.

I have struggled to get this onto my pc, so am looking at buying a mini dv digital camcorder either of the following:

Canon MV700i Digital Camcorder (Mini DV, 18x optical, DV in/out)
    Sharp VL-Z8H Digital Camcorder (Mini DV, 500x digital zoom, DV in/out)

Am I able to play these 8mm tapes through either of the above two cameras, or am I only able to play these these through 8 and Hi-8 cameras?

Would be grateful for anyones help!

Many thanks,
    Daryl.

2. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,425
    Hi Daryl and welcome to the forum.

I'm afraid that you are out of luck. Video 8 & Hi8 are as you say 8mm tapes, but DV tapes are only 4mm and therefore DV cams are too small to be able to take the 8mm tapes.
    The good news is that you do have a couple of options. Get a Sony (& I think now Samsung) Digital8 camcorder as this is digital with a DV port and Some of these can play back the old analogue 8mm recordings (check the specs carefully before purchase). Or you could get a DV cam with DV & analogue inputs and use that to record from the 8mm cam into a digital format either onto DV or just useing the DV cam as an A>D converter onto the PC.

Mark.

3. Daryl

Daryl

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your help Mark!

I have looked in more depth and the Canon MV700i definitely has both Analogue-in and DV in/out.

I have found one for just under £330.