868 and Pal Progressive Scan

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Graham Sims, Nov 24, 2003.

  1. Graham Sims

    Graham Sims
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    I got a pioneer 868 dvd player on saturday, and I am experiencing strange effects on menu's when I have progressive scan enabled. I bought my wife, a pet shop boys dvd called pop art, when you scroll through the various screens of the menu the scrolling pictures kind of breaks up into horizontal lines.
    When I turn off the progressive scan I can see no horizontal lines the pictures are smooth etc. It looks really bad.

    Anyone have any idea, or is it supposed to be like this?

    Cheers,

    Graham
     
  2. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    is it only on that disc or do others play up as well.
     
  3. Graham Sims

    Graham Sims
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Ratings:
    +1
    I did notice it on other menus, havent really had a chance to play around with it yet.

    It only seems to appear on menu's, films are fine.

    Cheers,

    Graham
     
  4. ailean

    ailean
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is this likely to be an issue with the film mode/progressive bit being set for the film but the menus not being produced in a progressive format?

    I've no idea what that means but from my readings something like that seems a potential cause. ;)
     
  5. Grubert

    Grubert
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Messages:
    601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +72
    Have you tried changing the PureCinema settings (Auto1, Auto2, On, Off)?
     
  6. Graham Sims

    Graham Sims
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've turned off the auto1 etc, and its fine.

    Cheers,

    Graham
     
  7. Garnot

    Garnot
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to let you know that if you turn it off, it won't do the proper deinterlacing for DVDs recorded in "Film mode". Almost all movies are filmed in 24fps. To properly deinterlacing it (3:2 pulldown), the PureCinema should be ON or Auto1. If you turn it off, it will treat all as Video (30fps) and won't do the 3:2 pulldown processing. What I'm thinking is that the Menus on the Pet Shop Boys DVD have incorrect progressive flags. Press "Display" at your remote to see a # sign in the Transfer Rate on screen. If is there, then the flags are wrong as this DVD comes from a video source (30fps).

    The Auto1 option reads the progressive flags in the DVD and apply the 3:2 pulldown when required. Watch out!!!
     
  8. manji

    manji
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the 668 but had the same problem as Graham in Auto1-mode. The menus on Matrix Reloaded, for example, combed badly.

    After changing to Auto2, the menu (and the movie!) looks solid.

    What's the difference between PureCinema Progressive "Auto1" and "Auto2"?
     

Share This Page

Loading...