1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

750/1500 or 2500

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Doctor_AB, Dec 14, 2004.

  1. Doctor_AB

    Doctor_AB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,318
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +74
    Heard demo of yamaha 750 and decided to buy. Then got thinking and considering 1500 or even 2500. What do these offer above 750. Will be using with sky+, arcam DV89, rotel RA 1062 driving front MA silver s6. Will by matching centre and probably 2 kef eggs. BTW if I have stereo amp and home cinema how should i connect speakers and amps?
     
  2. Mango Bob

    Mango Bob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doctor, I've got a 750 and am thrilled to bits with it (literally when I turn it up too loud, maybe I should see a doctor).

    Have a look at the thread in this forum about buying this amp from Germany - Rip Off Britain strikes again, someone here managed to get a 2500 for £530 delivered...an absolute steal!

    How to connect up stereo and AV amps has been covered many, many, many times before :D . Do a search for "stereo preout" in this forum and have a browse, as far as I know (I've not done this) you connect your stereo amp input to the stereo preout of your AV amp and use the stereo amp to drive your front speakers.
     
  3. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    The Yamaha 1500 offers zone 2, for an independent setup in another room. They also have the THX badge.

    The 2500 has in addition to the above, a bit more power and GUI.

    I'm sure there are other things but can't think of them at the moment!
     
  4. jasper_mccrea

    jasper_mccrea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +20
    The 1500 and 2500 allow the use of front presence speakers (above and wider than the mains) as well as 4 rear channels, the 750 makes you choose between front presence and two of those rear channels.

    Having said that, I'm using a 750 to drive tannoy eyris 2s, which can't be much lower-end than your MAs, and I'm perfectly happy.
     
  5. Doctor_AB

    Doctor_AB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,318
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +74
    Jasper what do you mean by lower end?
     
  6. Poolsharkie69

    Poolsharkie69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the 1500 just upgraded form the 640 and am in absolute love with it. Lots of power...movies sound amazing...THX is sweet...music is on par....
     
  7. jasper_mccrea

    jasper_mccrea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +20
    Oh, nothing to do with sound, just meant price.
     
  8. Doctor_AB

    Doctor_AB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,318
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +74
    Cost me approx £700 when new, so not that low end!
     
  9. jasper_mccrea

    jasper_mccrea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +20
    I wasn't trying to insult your lousy speakers (edit: I'd better add this ;)). I was just trying to say that mine probably weren't much cheaper than yours, and yet the amp drives them fine. A 750 would probably do the MAs no great disservice. Rather the opposite, I think. Although the 1500 or 2500, of course, might be better. Or a Z9.
     
  10. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    More power never does any harm :smoke:
     
  11. Doctor_AB

    Doctor_AB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,318
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +74
    Think I might go for 1500 as I'm not sure I can justify extra for 2500 and not very confident about buying from germany.
     
  12. betamac

    betamac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    tell u what m8 the 2 experiences i have had buying from germany the Yamaha 1400 and recently the 2500 have gone smoother than the majority of U.K transactions lol

    All business is conducted via e mail this is going on Audio-Vision they then send there bank details and give you an order number you then ring bank say can i transfer money to a German bank (giving order number as reference) and thats it, once money has cleared about 2 days) then send via UPS and takes about 2 days to arrive, they will send instantly if you send them receipt of payment.
     
  13. Doctor_AB

    Doctor_AB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,318
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +74
    Who would you chase up if the amp developed a fault. Also why do they not accept credit card payments as that does give a bit of extra security.
     
  14. betamac

    betamac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think its been discussed quite abit on these forums the fact that many many german stores dont take credit card even on face to face transaction, no idea why but it is true,

    As for fault well yamaha U.K will onour there warranty anywhere in Europe i have called yamaha U.K about my faulty 1400 and they will repair it for me which is what i am going to do then i will sell on ebay. As i wanted the AMP is silver originally but no-one had stock this is my chance to get a silver AMP as well as upgrade at the same time.
     
  15. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    betamac is right, I've phoned Yamaha about this too when I was thinking about ordering from Germany. They will definitely honour the warranty :thumbsup:
     
  16. dinoprada2003

    dinoprada2003
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    LONDON
    Ratings:
    +243
    Hello,

    What german site did you get your yammy from Betamac?, And what about the plug?
    im no techy so wouild it need a lot of skill to replace the plug to our "normal" ones?

    Thank's
     
  17. betamac

    betamac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ordered from http://www.audiovision-shop.de/index.htm

    And they will fit a U.K plug for you free of charge if you ask they did for my 1400 and have for my 2500
     
  18. jasper_mccrea

    jasper_mccrea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +20
    One reason I might have upgraded from the 750 to a 1500 or whatever would have been to get a separate audio delay for different inputs. I've just looked through the manual online, and the audio delay bit of the manual looks exactly the same.

    Can any 1500 or 2500 owners confirm that the audio delay is universal over all the inputs? Thanks.
     
  19. dinoprada2003

    dinoprada2003
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    LONDON
    Ratings:
    +243
    Wow and thank's betamac, :eek:

    1.)Do you know if the delivery is insured?

    2.)Can you do a bank transfer to there account via your credit card or is it bank to bank only?

    Thank's
     
  20. betamac

    betamac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Says on there website deliveries are insured, and unfortunately only bank to bank transfers which should not take more than 1 - 2 days tops to clear, u could always draw cash out on the credit card stick it in the bank and pay from there if funds are needed on a credit card
     
  21. dinoprada2003

    dinoprada2003
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    LONDON
    Ratings:
    +243
    :smashin: A 2500 for the price of the cheapest 1500 in the UK! it's just soooooooooo tempting!!!! :devil:
     
  22. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,516
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    It is indeed, many people have done it without problems. I phoned up Yamaha UK to ask whether it would be covered and it is :thumbsup:
     
  23. HeadBanger

    HeadBanger
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,778
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Ashingdon
    Ratings:
    +274
    Did you get any VAT or customs charges?
     
  24. Vodder

    Vodder
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    No customs or VAT charges as your ordering from an EU country and sending it to an EU country. The idea is that you pay the tax in the country of purchase, so you've already paid it in Germany.

    Also the plug is just a standard kettle lead, I got my 1400 from audiovision - no probs whatsoever and he gave me an english lead. When you'll get it you'll see why some peeps spend a fortune on a dedicated AV power lead....but theres only worth doing that if you can tell the difference...
     

Share This Page

Loading...