1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

720p or 1080i

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by killer10971, Feb 12, 2005.

  1. killer10971

    killer10971
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +29
    what is the difference between these two modes and what mode should be used for best viewing , i have tried the two and can see little difference

    is 570p the native resolution of dvd and 720&1080 are an extrapolation of the native

    i am using a denon 1910 via dvi into a philips 37inch lcd

    many thanks
     
  2. Rob20

    Rob20
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,595
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +341
    I think dvd is 480p native. The 720p/1080i is just the 480p signal upscaled. I would suggest that unless you have a tv with 1080 horizontal lines, you're better off with 720p. As most hi-def sets only have 720/768 lines a 1080i signal would have to be scaled down to fit. Therefore you end up losing 300 lines and only having an interlaced picture. You should be better off with a 720p picture.
     
  3. killer10971

    killer10971
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +29
    the display resolution is 1366*768 so i take it i look at the second figure which is the vertical?????

    many thanks
     
  4. Rob20

    Rob20
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,595
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +341
    The easiest way to remember is that the 2nd figure (768) desribes the number of horizontal lines, whereas the first figure (1366) describes the number of pixels per horizontal line. I would assume that a 720p picture would be better suited to a 768 display than a 1080i signal. But I may be wrong!?
     
  5. McE

    McE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Luzern, Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +8
    720p looks sharper than 1080i on my 37GA4E but has more artifacts...

    but doesn't the denon support 768p as the samsung does?
     
  6. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Killer:

    DVDs are interlaced so the first issue is whether the player or the display has the better de-interlacer. Then comes scaling, with the same choices. Since you say your player can't scale to native display then it's less clear-cut since it'll always re-size anything it sees.

    There's really only one 'right' answer, the one that looks best. :)

    To answer your opening question .. 720p is progressive, ie. the player does the deinterlacing, 1080i is interlaced, so the display does it.
     
  7. killer10971

    killer10971
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +29
    no i beleive my denon 1910 and the others is 720p and 1080i

    cheers
     
  8. killer10971

    killer10971
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +29
    are there any players that scale to native display???

    cheers

     
  9. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    To get 1366x768 you'll need one capable of custom resolutions, the Momitsu V880 is one such though I can't guarantee it can do that one as PCs can't IIRC (and the V880 is very PC-like in the behaviour of its' scaler it seems to me), something to do with 1366 not being a multipleof 8 something like that. Not sure of any others with custom output, I'm sure there are one or two but they's not common, most output 720p or 1080i like your Denon.

    An expensive solution would be a scaler like a Lumagen DVI or iScan HD.
     
  10. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,077
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,529
    killer10971

    Your R1 discs are encoded at 720x480 and your R2 discs at 720x576.

    Your DVD player can output 480P, 576P, 720P or 1080i via DVI - for some reason Denon don't (in the firmware I've seen so far) allow 480i or 576i via DVI.

    If you have a 1366x768P (fixed panel progressive array) then your choice is 480P for R1 and 576P for R2 discs and let the Display upscale the image to fill its 1366x768 array or 720P for R1 and R2 and let the Display do the last bit of resizing to 1366x768.

    If you try the 1080i output from your DVD player your Display then has to Deinterlace + Resize - some or all of which the Denon is probably better at.

    As others have said a bit of trial and error will let you know what works best - and keep in mind if you play a selection of R1 and R2 discs you need to adjust any user settings you feel need adjusted on the Display for both types of disc (and the optimum settings will most likely not be the same).

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  11. jucame

    jucame
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Suddenly my HD745 does not allow me to go further than 570p last week I could go 720p qnd 1080i, can you guess what happens? is my Sharp 26 G4 or the HD745 the faulty? thanks for your help :)
     
  12. MickyGee

    MickyGee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +1
    just had a quick read of the manual :

    If you are on Iscan(component) rather then PScan(DVi) your are limited to 570p. Unless you have applied the multiregion hack, in that case all res's should be available.
     
  13. jucame

    jucame
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am using from the very first day DVi of course, now I discover I can use only the PC digital side of my HD745 where I can go to higher resolution as normal, my HD745 has the hack perfectly done, but the AV digital does not let me go further than 570p, still I do not understand wht did happen :(
     
  14. killer10971

    killer10971
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +29
    thanks to all who replied , very helpful
     
  15. McE

    McE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Luzern, Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +8
    theres something wrong...

    Have you tried PAL and NTSC?

    AV Digital NTSC: 480p, 720p, 1080i (no 768p)
    PC Digital NTSC: 480p, 720p, 768p (no 1080i)

    AV Digital PAL: 576p, 720p, 1080i
    PC Digital PAL: 576p, 720p (not usable distorted), 768p


    That's what I get with a 32GA4E, 32GD1E and now a 37GA4E. Samsung HD745 with remotehack.
     
  16. jucame

    jucame
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    All I did is connect a Mac power book and change the PQ to maximum quality and from then i have problems, is this maybe the reason? before that everything was running perfect...
     
  17. crispybig

    crispybig
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    True enough for most practical purposes, but strictly speaking it's 480 for NTSC DVDs and 576 for PAL DVDs. Region coding is technically independent from format (NTSC or PAL). This is more informative when considering regions other than 1 and 2. :)
     
  18. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Indeed, for example Japan is R2 but NTSC.
     
  19. Loewe

    Loewe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
     

Share This Page

Loading...