720p for sport

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Ewoody, Aug 17, 2006.

  1. Ewoody

    Ewoody
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Blackburn
    Ratings:
    +291
    Sky originally stated 720p resolution was best for sport, ie. fast moving action.
    Does anyone use this resolution for sport & found its gives a better picture over 1080i.

    thanks
    ewoody.
     
  2. ykhan16

    ykhan16
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax
    Ratings:
    +14
    I did use 720p briefly during the world cup. I noticed that it did seem slightly smoother when the ball was being played around- but the better picture on 1080i more than compensated for that IMO. :lesson:
     
  3. scouse258

    scouse258
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +5
    my projector has been sent back to BENQ as it suffers terribly with juddering with any fast action sport at 1080 or 720:( . in 576p it is fine - but whats the point of me watching at this rate when i have went to the trouble of buying sky HD? Feel lucky!
     
  4. richardr

    richardr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2001
    Messages:
    329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +49
    Problem is that 720p isn't being used by any broadcaster, so all that selecting 720p at the Sky HD Box end is doing is getting the box to convert from the 1080i original to 720p, and send that to your TV, which will then convert to whatever format it uses.
     
  5. dennisg

    dennisg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +40
    I have recently changed to 720p and find that it offers a better picture for all programmes.

    Even for watching my beloved BRFC!
     
  6. ykhan16

    ykhan16
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax
    Ratings:
    +14
    Nonsense! There's no was a picture can get better after another scaling! :rotfl:
     
  7. rbentley

    rbentley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So sky HD's native resolultion is 1080i?
     
  8. richardr

    richardr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2001
    Messages:
    329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +49
    Unless one has a 1080 line TV, it needs to be scaled again somewhere to be displayed, and it is just a question of whether that is done by the digibox, or by the TV (or by an external device), or in many cases a combination, as most HD compatible TVs seem to be 768 lines.
     
  9. rbentley

    rbentley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So it's just a case of whichever looks the best on your TV, thanks
     
  10. colin45

    colin45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Are you saying that it would it would be better to use 720P with the Sony X series (1920x1080)
     
  11. DeKurver

    DeKurver
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    Not for 1920x1080 since that is a 1080 line resolution. Richardr was specifially talking about resolutions with less than 1080 lines.
     
  12. richardr

    richardr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2001
    Messages:
    329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +49
    Read the bit you quoted again, which referred to 1080 line TVs.

    In other cases, my view is that it is best to use one's eyes, and see if there are any differences - there can't be an always right case.

    Personally, I keep the box on auto and let my TV do all of the scaling.
     
  13. colin45

    colin45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I did have it on auto but got fed-up with the screen going blank on change over so I tried 720p and 1080i and I did not see much difference between all of them, I now leave it on 1080i but I was wondering if I should change it for various content
     
  14. hottstuff

    hottstuff
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Rep. of Ireland
    Ratings:
    +149
    From day one up to now , yes.
    I prefer 1080 also and auto is the best setting as it will output at the channels native resolution.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice