720p and 1080i resolutions for TVdrive.

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by bboy-mass, Mar 19, 2006.

  1. bboy-mass

    bboy-mass
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +12
    Hello,

    I have a PD7200 plasma (Alas) pannel 1024x1024.

    So, what is the best resolution for me to use via VGA?

    My friend has a component to VGA box, and Im goign to see if this fixes the TVdrive problem. I have lots of control over the picture if I use VGA, so its going to be interesting to see what happens.

    Please advise on what res i need to set for 720p and 1080i

    Cheers,
    Bboy
    Birmingham
     
  2. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,366
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +43
    Why not try both and see what looks best to you? Would seen to be the best solution...
     
  3. bboy-mass

    bboy-mass
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +12
    Yes, but using vga gives me a list of resolutions:eek:

    I need to know which ones represent 720p?

    is it 1024x720 or 1280x760 ?????

    Regards
    Nigel
     
  4. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,366
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +43

    Well if it doesn't tell you in the manual just try the different options until you find which one looks best. Might be quicker than waiting for someone with the same panel to reply... :)
     
  5. bboy-mass

    bboy-mass
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Messages:
    338
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'll wait.

    Cyber will know.

    Thanks,
     
  6. HeweyBoy101

    HeweyBoy101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lancing, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +82
    My understanding is that 1080i will look better on an Alis panel. The Alis technology is inherently interlaced, and futhermore, 1024 lines is a lot closer to 1080 than 720 ! I had an Alis panel before, and 1080i looked much better.
     
  7. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,595
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +920
    Yep - ALiS panels crop 1080i to 1024i - effectively dropping 28 lines top and bottom - rather than scaling.

    As they are effectively an interlaced display, then they should do a good job with 1080i material, if it remains 1080i through broadcast and distribution - i.e. material shot 1080/50i, compressed 1080/50i, received and decompressed 1080/50i and output 1080/50i.

    However, if the material has been shot 720/50p, and broadcast/decompressed/received in 720/50p - then the quality of the 720/50p conversion in the set top box in 1080/50i output mode compared to the quality of the 720/50p to 1024/50i conversion in the ALiS display will dictate which is better.

    You may not be able to see much difference.
     

Share This Page

Loading...