65U8GQ vs 65U8QF

WopBamBoogie

Novice Member
Hi All, first post for me

I had settled on a new 65 inch TV, and the 65U8QF seemed to offer the best value for my price-point (about 1200 euros locally). However, the same retailer is now offering the newer 65U8GQ model for about 1000 euros (about 300 off base price I think)

My question is - am I really getting more of a TV with the older QF version?

I am not very technical, I just want the best value TV for my money (mixture of SD TV, films, sport, although we watch a lot of TV in a dark room), and in my local market these Hisense models are WAY cheaper than equivalents from the main brands.

In your opinion, what would be the pros and cons of each model? I think the older model has 60Hz vs 120Hz for the newer model? I have seen some people say that the 120Hz is not really practically available somehow??

Also I am aware that the panels have changed between the models - is it worth the 200 euro premium for the older panel - is the new panel THAT much of a dog??

I am not able to test the TVs, and I am not able to find the Hisense TVs on display in local stores, so would welcome your thoughts and input. If the differences are expected to be rather subtle, then I would probably buy the cheaper, newer model and buy a luminoodle or such with the extra cash.

Thanks very much in advance!

shogun

@WopBamBoogie

Go onto YouTube and search for HDTV Test, where Vincent has tested and reviewed both models.

According to Vincent the newer QG version is a down grade, due to it's IPS low contrast panel and lower number of dimming back light zones.

The QF older model has a VA 120 hz native panel, but the HDMI ports are not 2.1 so you won't get the latest gaming features where it will only output 4k 60fps when playing games with the latest games consoles.

For the money i am extremely happy with my 65 inch U8QF.

Last edited:

WopBamBoogie

Novice Member
Thanks for the info, I will take a look