656a & Progressive Scan

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Sasquatch, Dec 18, 2002.

  1. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Upgraded my ancient Samsung 709 to s Pioneer 656a,

    I am very impressed, the sound is much better, and colours much more vibrant however . . .

    Progressive scan was one of the attractions, had no idea I wouldn't see the benefits from PAL disks!

    Is there likely to be a hack for this in the future? how can I tell what my player is outputting and can I switch the mode via the menu?

    Help! advice/progressive scan de-mistified please!

    Glad I discovered this forum :)

    Cheers,

    Steve
     
  2. wilber

    wilber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    Do you have a UK machine? According to Pioneer, it's only the US 656a that has prog scan & that will only work with NTSC. Since (from what I've picked up from US sites) the American's aren't into importing European discs, like we are into importing their's, there won't be a demand to upgrade the US version to include Pal progressive.

    You can tell if the machine you have is not the UK version if you have a button labelled "progressive" to the left of the disc tray. and no FL dimmer button

    If i'm talking twaddle, someone put me right please since if the UK version is prog scan enabled, then that will be a nice bonus for the future (I'm not worried for now since I don't intend to upgrade my TV for a few years yet and it can't deal with PS)
     
  3. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do have a UK machine, has 2 buttons on the left of the display,

    not at home so can't remember what they do!

    From the reviews I was lead to believe the machine could cope with progressive scan,

    Bugger!

    Anyone got some info!

    btw am using a projector with component inputs, and am looking to buy a progressive scan telly soon! :)

    Cheers,

    Steve.
     
  4. bash

    bash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,944
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +611
    I've got a UK machine and it doesnt have prog scan capabilites, only US and Asian models do Im afraid:(
     
  5. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I feel a bit daft now! I did so much research I don't know how I got it wrong!

    OK what should I do?

    Return it and buy a DVD player that has progressive scan?

    any recommendations upto £350?

    or be happy that I have bought a decent player?

    Confused?!

    What do you guys reckon, how important is progressive scan? should I be concerned?

    am I a fish?

    l8r

    Steve
     
  6. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Steve,

    Easily done mate.

    I've been looking for a new player and that fella is on my list. My friend has one and he raves on about it. He's going to bring it round soon for a demo.

    I've decided to buy a seperate prog scan converter box which will convert everything ( free view, xbox, dvd etc) into prog scan. So that's another way to go...probably talking between 500-700 quid though.

    I don't know what other kit you have but I've only really noticed a benefit when looking at larger pictures(like plasmas & projectors) so if you have a 32" telly I wouldn't worry. I'm sure someone will disagree with that remark.

    Also, I don't think you can get a player with SACD, DVD-A (which you have) and Prog Scan for that kind of price.

    Jus
     
  7. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK

    Cheers for the replys!

    It is not too late for me to return the 656A - was told it has progressive scan!

    I have a projector and am in the market for a big telly/plasma so I think progressive scan is the way to go

    questions:

    Not bothered about the other functions of the player, just want to watch films!

    Alternative - Toshiba 510e, any opinions?

    Progressive scan, if I get a progressive scan Plasma or TV, do I need the DVD player to be progressive scan, or can I use the component out and the TV takes care of this?

    confused now!

    Cheers,

    Steve
     
  8. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +333
    Return it and get a philips 963sa :)
     
  9. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK

    Cheers for the replys!

    It is not too late for me to return the 656A - was told it has progressive scan!

    I have a projector and am in the market for a big telly/plasma so I think progressive scan is the way to go

    questions:

    Not bothered about the other functions of the player, just want to watch films!

    Alternative - Toshiba 510e, any opinions?

    Progressive scan, if I get a progressive scan Plasma or TV, do I need the DVD player to be progressive scan, or can I use the component out and the TV takes care of this?

    confused now!

    Cheers,

    Steve
     
  10. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, 1st day on the forum, had a read, gonna take the 656a back!

    Not progressive scan and I am buying a big telly soon!

    Any advice/ideas on what to do next appreciated!

    The philips 963sa, and Toshiba 520E are shortlisted!

    Why is the 520e so much cheaper than the 510e!?

    Help, too much input! . . . .
     
  11. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    the 656 is a great player, if you have a projector and plan for a plasma or prog scan telly why not go for an external scaler that will do for the plasma and pj and de-interlace as well?
     
  12. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Problem is I have a budget of £350 for the DVD player!

    This Philips 963sa looks promising though, buggered if I can find anywhere that actually sells it!

    I do have a mate who works for Philips though . . . hmmm

    all good advice though, cheers!
     
  13. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,478
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,046
    £350 is enough for the Phlips DVD 963, but they are in short supply this side of the new year.
     
  14. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like a plan, is this player really that good?!

    Looks nice, and looked at the manual, has some nice features,

    You lot love it, but nothing in the press or on the web really!

    Looks like the 656 goes back tomorrow, then I have about £2000 to buy a new TV and DVD!

    Help from you guys is much appreciatted!

    Nice!

    l8r

    Steve
     
  15. lotusman1

    lotusman1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    277
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +2
    Im interested to know where you bought the pioneer as i just received mine from unbeatable.co.uk and i was also led to believe it had prog scan!Was also bought believing it was region free and its not,have contacted them about both bot have to wait till monday for a response from tech dept.
     
  16. Phatboy

    Phatboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +0
    Check out the threads on the Limit 9900SE,PAL & NTSC prog, uses same chip as £1,000+ DVD players. Ive got one and it does it all ! simply amazing for £200!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice