605 Crossovers HELP I'M CONFUSED!!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by steve69bez, Jan 24, 2008.

1. steve69bez

steve69bez

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +138
    I have searched around the forums and have read mixed things about crossover settings, I have little knowledge of crossovers and what they should be and need some help,

I have an Onkyo 605 connected to

2x Gale 4040 Fronts:
    Power rating 120 Watt
    Impedance (nominal) 4- 8 Ohm
    Sensitivity for 2.83 V 90 dB
    Frequency response 39 - 20 kHz
    Driver details
    LF Driver 2x5.5” Woven Composite Cone /shielded motor assembly
    HF Driver 25mm soft dome
    Crossover 3 Way 1st Order

Gale Centre 4050C:
    Power rating 80 Watt
    Impedance (nominal) 4- 8 Ohm
    Sensitivity for 2.83 V 87 dB
    Frequency response 80 - 20 kHz
    Driver details
    LF Driver 2x3.5” Woven Composite Cone
    HF Driver 19mm soft dome
    Crossover 1st Order

Gale Subwoofer 4070:
    Power rating 65 Watt
    Sensitivity for 2.83 V 240mV for max output
    Frequency response 40 - 150 Hz
    Driver details
    LF Driver 8” long throw

4x Gale Rears 3010S:
    Power rating 80 Watt
    Impedance (nominal) 8 Ohm
    Sensitivity for 2.83 V 85 dB
    Frequency response 90 - 20 kHz
    Driver details
    LF Driver 3.5” paper cone
    HF Driver 19mm soft dome
    Crossover 2 Way 1st Order

My Audessey setup is this:
    Crossovers
    Speakers set to: 6ohms
    Fronts: Full Band
    Centre: 80hz
    Rears: 100hz
    Subwoofer: 80hz
    Deepbass: Off

At the moment it sounds very good, and I must say I am very pleased with the gale speakers they have a real presence, but I am nitpicky and would like it to be set perfectly. Should my fronts be set to full band?, Will this damage them?