1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

6 speaker mishap

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Sam41, Jul 31, 2004.

  1. Sam41

    Sam41
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :thumbsup: Good day
    Right I have a new 5.1 speaker system, and all I want to do for now, is to play my ipod through it. My system takes input via phono (red and white, yeah?) leads and requires 6 leads to be connected for sound to be played from all of the speakers, but my ipod cable only has two phono plugs. So I can only listen to the sound via two speakers. Basically, is there a splitter or something to split the sound from a 3.5mm jack output to 6 phono plugs or something similar.

    Yes, i'm new to this stuff, so some terms may be sketchy. anyway, i anticipate ay help given

    thanks
     
  2. Sam41

    Sam41
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry, but i would also appreciate any info regarding connecting my xbox to the system, as the xbox supports 5.1, but my speakers have no optical in/output (I am unsure whether this is required)

    Thanks again
     
  3. ShinObiWAN

    ShinObiWAN
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Simple fact is that the ipod doesn't produce surround sound.

    You can however get a wrap around stereo effect going by using 'Y' adaptors on the phono's of the ipod at least this way you can use 4 speakers.

    But what you really need is an AV amp or processor featuring Dolby ProLogic II, DTS Neo:6 etc. With this you simply plug your two stereo phono's into the amp and it splits the signal into a convincing surround experience rather than just have a stereo signal that is just blurted out over 4 speakers.

    EDIT: That may sound very confusing but the fact is I'm quite p*ssed at the moment and need sleep badly!
     
  4. fraggle

    fraggle
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +29
    To add to Shiobis response you'll also need a digital optical input on the amp to accept the output from the X Box.

    I'm not aware of any amps that don't have optical inputs, but better to ask anyway :)
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    OK i am guessing your system requires a DVD player with onboard decoding, Creative do an external decoder which is what you need!
     
  6. Sam41

    Sam41
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, thanks for the replies, they were very helpful.
    Does anybody have a link to this external decoder i've searched but couldnt find the creative one (and am unsure what i am after)?

    Thanks you again,
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
  8. Sam41

    Sam41
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks again dragon, I hope to order this asap.
     
  9. ShinObiWAN

    ShinObiWAN
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. Sam41

    Sam41
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah cheers man, amazon seem to have it for just under £80 (exc postage etc though) but that isn't too bad. Are there any other good alternatives worth considering? Especially if it can save me a few quid, if not i'll shell out on the Creative DDTS100.
    Thanks
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    amazon free P&P over £25 and, £3 off for first time user!
     
  12. Sam41

    Sam41
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice one! I didn't realise
     

Share This Page

Loading...