1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

6 Noob questions for the HTPC experts

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Cameron, May 10, 2004.

1. Cameron

Cameron

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi there all, I am feeling like a complete noob with this HTPC thing and could really do with some pointers.

This is my system.

Sim2 DMF (800*600 or 848*480)
    HTPC with Radeon 9800, RME9632
    CAT5 with madnat VGA\Digital Coaxial

Currently on my HTPC, DVD quality is poor when displayed on my projector compared to my DV88+p.

I know there is alot that I am not doing here but please be easy on my. Also, to make it eaiser to read I will put them in point form ;)

1. Both Zoomplayer and Powerdvd currently offer the same poor quality. Zoomplayer at least offers me the ability to play the movie on my projector while still use my desktop for other things - though i have only half got this working correctly. I hear theatertek is also good, but to keep things simple I'll just try and get it to work properly first before comparing products.

2. While powerstrip is installed, it seems to do very little in its currently configured form. From what I understand, it allows me to pass on the resolution of the dvd without effecting my current desktops resolution????

3. At the moment I put my projector on 800*600 (4:3) for the desktop and then output the movie in anamorphic. I then select anamorphic on my projector. When my HTPC is configured correctly should I just put my projector on 848*480 (16:9) mode instead?

4. My projector can scale/deinterlace, however; should i be using software for this?

5. how do i output my spdif for my RME soundcard and not my onboard 5.1 within powerdvd/zoomplayer?