6 Channel Audio Inputs

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by sapper, Jan 15, 2008.

  1. sapper

    sapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southgate, North London
    Ratings:
    +145
    I have a problem that I would like to solve....

    If it is indeed possible, preferably cheaply...

    I currently have a superd Denon 2900 DVD player connected to my Denon Amp using Digital and 6 channel Audiio leads, for Movies and Multi Channel Music respectively

    I have also built a HTPC that will play both formats of HD discs. However currently I am using the SPDIF connection for the audio tracks.

    Because (apart from being too lazy to remove everything to make the connections) my 6 channel inputs are used by the DVD player I cannot connect the 6 channel Audio out leads to the Amp.

    What I need is a simple switching system that will allow me to pass both sources into the AV amp.

    Any ideas on how I could achive this?

    Preferably soemthign affordable (and green friendly)!

    Adrian
     
  2. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,506
    I haven't seen any audio switching units that accept 6ch audio and output 6ch audio, most are for stereo use only. I have no idea whether this would work, it would certainly be a cheap solution if it did! However, I don't know if there would be room for 6 of those in the back of your amp, you might need more cables to connect to them.
     
  3. sapper

    sapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southgate, North London
    Ratings:
    +145
    I would imagine, inaddition to extra cables, female to female converters would be required? Alternatively something like this Phono 2 Sockets to 1 Plug Cable from maplins...

    What is the best way of accessing the 3.5 mm jacks on a motherboard to normal phono connectors?

    There seem to be a variety out on the market...

    Any suggestions most welcome

    Adrian
     
  4. sapper

    sapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southgate, North London
    Ratings:
    +145
    Bump....

    What are the best leads - (or at least the best compromise re cost agasint audio quality) for taking the 6 channel sound from a HTPC soundcard (i.e a 3.5 mmm jack) to a phono connection.

    I will need 6 cables to connect my asus motherbazord to the 6 channel input of my AV amp.

    Any recomendations please??

    Adrian
     
  5. un1eash

    un1eash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,003
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,421
    What sound card do you have on your motherboard? It cant be complicted sometimes depending if you card is a 6.1 or 7.1. My sound card a x-fi xtrememusic (7.1) has 3 mini jack ports, it cant handle 7.1 but my setup is 6.1 so i have 1 jack for the fronts, 1 for the rears, and 1 for the front centre, rear centre and sub.

    The front and rear channels are fine, i use a mini jack (3 pole) to twin phono for these but for the centres and sub i had to use a 4 pole mini jack to triple phono lead to get the full 6.1
     
  6. sapper

    sapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southgate, North London
    Ratings:
    +145
    I have an Asus AM2 motherbaord; asyet I have t invested in an additiqanlsound card, mainy due to insufficent slots within the HTPC!!

    I do beleive my 6 outputs(5.1) are mono (Single channe0 - but Guess I need to re-read the manual to confirm before I order anyhtitng.

    Just opened up the SoundMax drivers software...

    For a 5.1 System which is what I have,

    blue = line in
    green = Front out
    pink-red = microphone in
    white = nused
    black = Rear
    Orange-red = Centre & subwoofer..

    So I need three 3.5mm stereo to phono jacks.

    A good start on what exactly I need but still need recomendations plese

    Adrian
     
  7. un1eash

    un1eash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,003
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,421
  8. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +662
    I would normally suggest an optical connection as well, but in this case as the source is HD I'm guessing the PC is decoding the HD audio hence the need to use the analogue outputs?
     
  9. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,496
  10. sapper

    sapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southgate, North London
    Ratings:
    +145
    Iam currently using A digital SPDIF for DTS and DD but I may try and tinker with arcsofts new software.

    this will apparently decode true HD. As its still an experiment I do not want to invest too muich as yet


    Thanks for your replies peeps..

    Keep them comming :lease:

    Adrian
     
  11. sapper

    sapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southgate, North London
    Ratings:
    +145
    Cheers Joe,

    Quite a box there, and as yousuggested not cheap...

    It looks very powerful, and if it could double up as a seperate HDMI swithcer then maybe not so an out ragious idea

    Adrian
     
  12. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,496
    Hello sapper

    Zektor have the HDMI + 7.1 Multi Channel audio option covered - though its more expensive; see http://www.zektor.com/mas71/index.html

    The HDS4.1 is a brilliant bit of kit if you need to Switch Component Video or Multi Channel audio along with Optical and Coaxial audio - its integration features make it a breeze to set up and operate.

    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...