1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

6.1 Setup with Class A Amplification

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Dimmy, Aug 12, 2003.

  1. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anybody ever tried a 6.1 setup with Class A Amplification on all the speakers (except for the subwoofer)???

    I'd imagine you'd use a fairly descent pre-amp connected to three stereo Class A amps, anybody got clues as to how it would sound???
     
  2. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have a highly class A biased AB amp (up to 25watt pure A). I love the sound of my stereo treo, even on the end of the yamaha i have been using as an interim solution! But i dont think thats necessarily because they are class A (ish) rather just because they are good amps.

    A warning..... dont forget heat, even with my amps the room will raise in temperature by a few degrees through a film..... bettwe than most heaters!

    Ad
     
  3. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well what daft idea's been running through my head is...

    Using an A/V receiver as a pre-amp and using three PM7200 amps for the power-amps...

    If people convince me it'll sound notably better than a sub-£1200 A/V receiver I may just experiment with this idea!
     
  4. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    PM7200? by whom? If they are any good, it is likely the performance should be superior.

    Ad
     
  5. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Marantz - did you not read the What's Hi-Fi review? (They adored it).

    Yeah the PM7200 is a class A amp which I've found for £230.
     
  6. pwiles1968

    pwiles1968
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire - England
    Ratings:
    +10
    Does the PM7200 have a fixed gain in that bypasses the volume? There is a processor IN/OUT at the back but not sure what it does, this would negate the volume setting nightmare of 3 amps. It should sound fantastic if the reviews are anything to go by but would be very tall, I had thought of adding one to my amp for stereo but have not had the mono-blocks long and really need to get a decent source first. Am very interested in the fixed gain do you know off hand, What receiver were you thinking of running them with.
     
  7. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    The amp does have one set of 'Processor In/Outs' according to the Marantz website...

    I've emailed marantz asking them what they think of the idea and whether it'd work...

    We'll soon see!
     
  8. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh and, I'm not sure what to use as a pre-amp yet. First thoughts are with AVR2803, but that might defeat the purpose of trying to attain this quality of sound...

    Suggestions welcome..

    (Oh and I have the space so don't care how much all these amps take up in the room - and I like the heat!)
     
  9. pwiles1968

    pwiles1968
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire - England
    Ratings:
    +10
    I assume you can get them at a good price, the 7200's that is.
     
  10. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. pwiles1968

    pwiles1968
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    773
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicestershire - England
    Ratings:
    +10
    Gutted I read a review on these the week after my 6100's arrived and at the same time as a pair of MA24's showed up on e-bay, which are an alternative if you can find any they are 25W Class A mono-blocks which the guy at Marantz told me used to retail at £2500 a pair, they went for not much more than my 6100's, all I need now to finish me off is for you to tell me that the 72 has AV bypass.
     
  12. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well Marant'z email address doesn't actually work, so I'm going to have to Phone them tomorrow to find out if it does - I'll keep you posted...

    If anybody else on the forums knows feel free to contribute.
     

Share This Page

Loading...